Petlife logo

In Loving Memory

A Pet's Parting Words

By Yu IkedaPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
In Loving Memory
Photo by Yuki Dog on Unsplash

Oh…my family is crying again.

Mommy, daddy, and their kitten that grew up so well, they are all crying.

I don’t have the same energy as before, I’m not a puppy anymore. I can’t get up and lick your tears like before. I’m sorry.

My back hurts a little bit, but the bitter pill that you give me everyday helps. So thank you for not giving up on me until the end.

We may speak different languages, sometimes you don’t understand me, and sometimes I don’t understand you but in the end we make it work, because the love language is the same.

If you hugged me, I would playfully nudge you.

If you kissed me, I would lick your face and make you laugh.

And when you gave me a secret snack, I would wag my tail.

Every action was a testament of the happiness you brought into my life, and I hope that I could express my love for you as well.

I want to thank you for the love, and care you've showered on me throughout our time together. The delicious meals, cozy naps on the couch, and those long walks in the park made my life so full and exciting.

If someone can hear me, tell my family that they are my best friends, and the source of my endless joy, because from the day they brought me home, I felt safe, loved, and cherished.

Tell them that I don’t want to leave our cozy home, but sometimes life takes unexpected turns. We knew that someday we would go separate ways, for some it comes earlier than for others. For me, it took 13 years. 13 happy years.

Tell them to not blame themselves or feel guilty, I know how much they care for me, I know how much they have done to keep me here. I'm grateful for every moment we spent together, and I want you to remember those happy times we shared.

Tell them that I will depart on another journey, but my love for them will always stay the same. I'll be watching over mommy, daddy, and the little kitten from wherever I am, and I hope they will find comfort in the memories we created together.

Please, I want them to smile, even through the tears because that's what they taught me – to find joy in every moment. I hope that they will keep my favorite toy close and maybe one day, they'll find a little furry friend who needs their love just as much as I did.

The house may feel emptier without me running around, but the love we shared will forever echo in its walls, just like when I barked. Remember the mornings when I greeted you with a tail-wagging dance, and the evenings when I curled up at your feet providing some warmth.

I can’t hear very well, but mommy keeps telling me that everything is going to be okay, and daddy says that he needs me beside him at the next football game because I’m the only one who cheers with him.

And the little kitten, oh…my precious little kitten, who hugs me and cries. I’m so sorry, but keep in mind that I love you.

I love you all.

As I took one long last breath, and slowly closed my eyes, I thanked you, my family, for being the best owners in the world. Remember me with love, and I'll forever hold you in my heart.

Thank you for loving me too.

literaturefact or fictiondogcat
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.