Petlife logo

I Miss My Childhood And My Best Friend Even More

A (Young) Man's Best Friend (A Reissue)

By Digital_FootPrintPublished 10 months ago 6 min read
Like
I Miss My Childhood And My Best Friend Even More
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Once upon a time, in a far, far away land, I had a dog. This dog was the best in the world and her name wasn’t Spot.

That’s just me paying homage to some of those kid books I grew up reading back in the day.

My dog’s actual name was Lady Bear. The reason why we named her that was pretty self explanatory. She was a female and she looked like a bear.

I believe she was of the Newfoundland breed. She was so beautiful. She had this jet black coat that would glisten when the sun would shine against it. She was a good sized mama too. She had to be around that 85 lb. mark.

My dad and I would take her everywhere with us. I remember one time at school, I was late and missed the bus that would take me home so my father, along with Lady Bear, had to come and get me.

Apparently, his ole truck had taken out so he, myself and Lady Bear walked all the way home from the school. That walk had to be maybe 7–8 miles from the house.

We walked through the roads back when the streets wasn’t as congested as they are today.

I wouldn’t walk to the ice cream man across the street let alone walking miles across the streets now. That’s just how crowded these streets have become.

We walked through the river which I was terrified to do but we made it through. I had that dog for about three years.

Then one day, she was gone. She had up and vanished never to be heard from or seen againnnnn (in a Chris Jericho font).

I often thought about Lady Bear over the years and it would get to me a little especially when I would see other young kids playing with their dogs and taking them for walks and all I have is a fish tank.

I like fish and all but they don’t give a damn about you if you’re not feeding them. Most dogs, especially when you treat them right as you should, will love you for life.

Give em’ some of that good ole’ Alpo and give them a good belly rubbing from time to time and they will be your friend to the end.

Over the years, I’ve asked my parents about Lady Bear and what actually happened to her and not to spoil it but things didn’t fare too well for ole Lady Bear at all.

I was maybe 7 or 8 years old when I recall asking my mother about Lady Bear. She originally told me that,

“Well, man. He ran away.”

I was sad for a few moments and I came to the realization that dogs have been known to run away over time.

Then about a decade or so later, I asked her again about Lady Bear to see if I could get a little more detail about what exactly happened to make her run away.

Maybe, there was a hole in the fence and she got out. Maybe, somebody just up and took her. That happens a whole lot.

They don’t talk about it but doggy theft is one of the fastest growing crimes in the country right next to house title theft. Believe me, I’m not lying. I’ve seen the data.

When I brought up Lady Bear to her, I noticed that she had switched up her story a great deal. She went from telling me that, “she ran away” to “she got hit by a car.”

WHAT IN THE TORLEDO IS GOING!!! (I used that corny phrase because I’m trying my best to keep this long post PG-13: John Cena style. Lol.

You remember when he changed his finishing move from the F-U to the Attitude Adjustment?

That made me nauseous hearing me type that. (More about the WWE PG-Era in a later post) After that response, I didn’t want to pry anymore. I just left it alone until about a few months ago.

My father and I were sitting around chit chatting about this and that and when my father and I get to talking, we be all over the place.

One moment, we can be discussing topics such as, “why do the lakers suck so damn bad” to “why are politicians so damn gutless” in another.

During our conversation, I thought that I would ask my father what really happened to my dog and that’s when this story started to take a very drastic turn.

I caution all the kiddies as well as the screamish adults to PLEASE read the rest of this story at your own discretion. Also, here’s another one of my disclaimers.

Disclaimer: I, DigitalFoot_Print, do not condone nor am I promoting the harming of any animals.

Now that that’s done with it, I’ll continue. My father told me that,

“Yes! Lady Bear did indeed get hit by a car.

He told me that he took her to the vet but there wasn’t anything that they could do so he took her to a relative’s house and kept her there until he could figure out something else.

My father left and went somewhere and when he came back he had found out that this “said” relative had put Lady Bear out of her misery.

The man explained that he saw how pitiful she looked and that she would never be able to walk again so he took the aforementioned action.

That was so heartbreaking and gutwrenching to hear even though this stuff happened ages ago. It still stings me to this day. I never wanted my dog to go out like that!

As for as my parents, those cats kept the charade going for decades upon decades. All I can do is shake my head at the both of them.

Now I understand that parents want to protect their kids from the evils of the world but come on man! That’s taking it a little too far, don’t you think!

Sheds a few tears as I pour out some liquor for Lady Bear as I prepare myself to go off on a tangent.

Alright kids, I’m pretty sure some of you all are still reading this because you noisy, little buggers never ever do what an adult tells you to do.

Believe me, I know because I used to be a kid about 112 years ago so I’m familiar with all the tricks.

You want to know what else I know?

You know that guy Santa Claus? Well, he’s NOT REALLLLL. Neither is the Easter Bunny. And the Tooth Fairy? That was YO MOMMA who gave you that 5 dollars that you found under your pillow.

That’s right, kiddies! That joker is about as real as a three dollar bill. THERE YOU GO!!!! Now enjoy the rest of your childhood. Lol. Have a nice day.

vintagedog
Like

About the Creator

Digital_FootPrint

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.