Petlife logo

I adopted a sixteen-year-old cat

The story of one very wonderful cat

By Christina EpperlyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Blanca in a Basket

This story starts in February of 2014. I was sitting at the computer in the living room. I do not know why I was looking at the adoptable cats on a local animal shelters website. I already had one cat at the time, and we did not have any plans to get another. When I saw a sixteen-year-old black cat named Blanca listed on the webpage for adoption, I felt sorry for her. I knew her age and fur color lowered her chances for getting adopted. It is common knowledge that kittens get adopted quicker than adult cats. Back in 2008 I had gotten my other cat Sherri from the same shelter. She was only two years old at the time, but she had already been at the shelter for three months. Even for the young adult cats adoption can take a while. I knew it would be hard for a sixteen-year-old cat to find a home when it took three months for a two-year-old cat to do so. Also, when it comes to cats there a people who believe that black cats are bad luck. This makes it much harder for black cats to get adopted compared to cats with other fur colors. I somehow was able to convince my parents that we should adopt her. The next day my mom and I went to the animal shelter and asked to see her. She was very friendly and could walk around and jump without any problem. We found out that she had been brought to the shelter to be euthanized but the vets could not find any medical reason to put her down. She was an old cat, but she was a healthy cat. We brought her home and set her up with everything she needed in my room. I must be honest I did not think that Blanca would be around for long. Especially since according to my friend Google cats live an average of fourteen years. Since Blanca was already two years past that I figured she would be with us for a few months or hopefully even a year. It turns out that Blanca did not agree with Google’s answer and that she had other plans. After getting to know Blanca some more I learned that she was a small cat with a big personality. She loved attention when she wanted me to pet her, she would lay down right on my chest and do her absolute best to get between me and my phone. She also had a very loud meow and she knew how to use it. When she wanted something, she made sure that you knew it. I have never had another cat that was as loud as she was. Two words that describe her best are sweet and sassy. After having her for a few years I adopted a kitten who I named Cooper that had be found in a trash can. She made sure to let him know who was boss. Cooper loved to cuddle so they had their cute moments. Unfortunately, Blanca and Sherri never become friends, but they did tolerate each other. My adventure with the sweet and sassy Blanca lasted almost six years! I miss being able to say that I have a cat that is only eight years younger than I am. I absolutely adored her she was friendly and not shy at all. She wanted every visitor to pet her. It was so hard to see her go but I was so blessed to have her for as long as I did. Adopting a senior pet was one of the best choices I have ever made. If you are looking to adopt a new pet, I would suggest that you consider sharing your home with a senior pet because they still have a lot of love to give.

adoption
3

About the Creator

Christina Epperly

Hello There ! I'm a blogger, writer and bucket lister! My bucket list has over 300 items on it. I am big believer in enjoying the little things in life. I also love collecting toys.

John 3:16

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.