Petlife logo

Hummingbird

A tale of choices.

By Natalia Perez WahlbergPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Hummingbird
Photo by James Wainscoat on Unsplash

The year was 2001, and it was just at the beginning of my third year of University. I had been working a morning shift as a barista in a coffee shop. The place was located inside an office building in downtown Montreal.

I was done with my shift and was about to head to my first class of the day, when one of the maintenance guys of the buildings came over. I thought he just wanted to chat, it wasn’t unusual that he’d pass by and chit-chat with my manager. However, on this beautiful day in early September, he had a surprise.

“A bird has hit the window.” He announced plainly.

“What?!” My manager, co-workers, and I managed to ask.

“Yeah, it’s outside.”

“Is it alive?” I needed to know it was OK. I’ve obsessively rescued animals my whole life whenever the chance presented itself. I have never been able to stand by if I see an animal in distress. This time was no different. “Show me!”

He took me to where the little fellow had fallen. What would be my surprised when I discovered that it was the tiniest bird I had ever laid eyes on. It was so small it fit loosely on the palm of my hand. “A hummingbird!” My mouth formed an “o” and I observed the creature with awe and tenderness. I had picked it up and it was now resting on my hand. He was breathing, but what to do next? I had no idea how to care for a bird, let alone a hummingbird. I wasn’t sure whether it was a baby bird or a full-grown one. They are so small it’s impossible to know when you are such a bird ignoramus as I was (and still am, I’m afraid).

I called different entities that I thought could help, until I managed to get in touch with one in the East End of the island that had experience with birds.

“What should I do?” I inquired worriedly. I was told to give it liquid with some sugar to hidrate it. I had no idea how to do that. I checked my watch, my class was starting in less than an hour. What to do? It was my first day in a C++ class (why I thought taking a programming class was a good idea when I was majoring in Fine Arts is beside me, but that was the class I had to attend and didn’t wanna miss it because programming was a foreign language to me that I was determined to learn to be able to do web design… Why? I ask myself again!) I’m digressing… I knew I had to decide, leave the bird with someone in the building and hope that they’d do right by it and go to class, or miss class and head over to the place I had spoken to on the phone and know I’d be leaving the little guy in good hands. I picked the latter. I knew I’d never be able to live with myself if I didn’t see through this. I was worried. This place was far by public transit and I didn’t own a car. Was he gonna make it? I wasn’t sure, but I was determined to make the trip. I was as set on saving this beautiful, tiny bird, as John McClane was of risking his life to save his family in Die Hard. Yes, that’s how serious I was! I would NOT be deterred.

Mind you, this was way before social media and, definitely, before the Dodo where people share all their animal-saving experiences. Yes, saving animals had always been a selfless act for me, possibly the most selfless of all the things I’ve ever done. I knew animals wouldn’t thank me, and I couldn’t care less what people thought or said. I only had my conscience to answer to, and I knew that bringing the hummingbird to a center where they could care for it was what my conscience required of me.

When I arrived, the creature was still breathing and alive. He was weak, but alive.

They assured me it was not too late and that he was in good hands. I wonder regularly if he made it, if he was able to return to the wild and live a long life (or as long as hummingbirds can possibly live).

I tell myself he did. And, needless to say, I missed that class, which was a sign… I barely passed it at the end of the term.

They say hummingbirds symbolize joy and playfulness, adaptability, resilience, and the ability to respond quickly. Looking back, I realize that makes a whole lot of sense. I had just started a new job in that coffee shop, was the beginning of a new year in University, one that would determine what I wanted to do with my life. It was a year that brought me a lot of insight.

bird
1

About the Creator

Natalia Perez Wahlberg

Illustrator, entrepreneur and writer since I can remember.

Love a good book and can talk endlessly about books and literature.

Creator, artist, motion graphics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.