Petlife logo

How To Tackle the Litter Box Stink

For the record, my poop smells like daisies and honeybees!

By Shadow the Adventure CatPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5
How To Tackle the Litter Box Stink
Photo by Litter Robot on Unsplash

When people see this photo, a common question my missus gets is whether the smell of the litter box doesn't get to her in the tent.

Photo Credit: Shadow the Adventure Cat

The answer is no. Okay, so maybe it’s not because my litter box smells like daisies and honeybees. But, let’s get to the question so many people have asked. Let’s talk about managing kitty poop!

What Litter Box Should I Use?

I recently received an email from one of my newsletter readers asking what kind of litter box I recommend for travel. Your best option is almost always an enclosed litter box with a door. It helps to trap the scents. You should notice a difference almost immediately.

What If Your Kitty Has Never Used a Closed Box Before?

It might take some time to train Mister Whiskers. I adjusted immediately, but if your kitty doesn’t, here are some tips:

  1. Put it in an area with no litter inside and without the cover on. You know how us kitties are. If we fit, we sit!
  2. Once we have checked it out and gone inside a few times, put the lid on.
  3. After we’ve tried it with the lid, add some litter from the existing litter box and put it next to it.
  4. Make the full switch when you think the time is right.

Where Should I Put the Litter Box?

Some RVers put the litter box in the tub. But, who really wants to take that in and out for showers? Also, Mister Whiskers likely won’t appreciate the wet paws as he goes in and out of the box.

The best place to put the box is in a storage area:

  • We have a lower storage area under the wardrobe in the RV and that’s where my box goes.
  • Our friend, Kevin, found a way to put the box in his RV's basement storage and give his kitty access.
  • We have also seen custom builds where owners create a similar space in a storage area of the van or bus.

Will My Cat Use the Litter Box While Traveling?

For my first week on the road, missus traveled with me in a medium-sized dog crate, so she could fit my litter box, food, water, and a place to sleep. Guess what? I slept in the litter box. I didn’t use it, even when we were on the road for up to 18 hours per day.

Will this be the same for your cat? Try providing access to a litter box while driving and see what happens.

What Can I Do About the Smell?

If you use a closed litter box and you put the box in a storage area, you have already tackled quite a bit of the litter box smell problem. Here are some additional tips:

  • Use a high-quality litter that does a great job of clumping around smelly things and trapping scents.
  • Clean the litter box as often as you can; your nose will thank you.
  • Ventilate the room that has access to the litter box.
  • Try an air filter in rooms where ventilation might not be possible.
  • Give your kitty probiotics if he has a sensitive tummy, as I do.

However, this is the NUMBER ONE solution my missus found: if possible, travel to dry and desert areas. Humidity makes litter boxes smell more easily. When we travel in dry areas, such as Nevada or California, the box quite literally never smells.

If you want specific recommendations for the products we use, my missus put together a gear page with all my things. From the litter box to my probiotics and my padded leash, you can find it all here!

Want to give me a treat? I’m taking tips for catnip and tuna! 😺

cat
5

About the Creator

Shadow the Adventure Cat

I adventure full-time with my missus in her FJ Cruiser. Airbnbs, tents, RV living—we do it all. Come find out how to adventure with your kitty, or just see what I've been up to on the road. Meow!

I love pledges and tips for tuna and catnip!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.