Petlife logo

How I Adopted the Dog Nobody Wanted

Rejection Can Mean Perfection

By Aryanna WattersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

If you’ve ever thought about getting a dog, this is a story you should read.

August 22 is Shiloh’s gotcha day!! It’s been one year and a half since I picked this little guy up at the shelter. He’s nothing that I expected to bring home or wanted to bring home, but he’s everything that I needed and he needed me too. Sometimes, the thing you least expect to happen can be the greatest thing to change your life!

Two years ago, I begged my dad to get another dog. He said yes only if the dog was good with kids, dogs, and cats. I said okay and my search began! Most humane societies and shelters have their adoptable pets online and I searched through so many. I found a shelter an hour away and looked through all of their dogs probably 5 times. I found 5 that fit my requirements and I was so excited to go.

We first went to Terre Haute Humane Shelter and I asked about the 5 dogs that fit my description. All the dogs I had picked out were either already adopted. They didn’t have any dogs left that fit my requirements either. I was completely devastated and felt absolutely hopeless.

Then, a worker told us about another humane society. We went to Clay County Humane Shelter which was 30 minutes away. We had no idea when they closed or if they would even have any dogs that fit my requirements. We arrived and I told them the things that I needed in a dog. I was all out of hope, but thought why not.

Shelter worker: “We have a dog, but he’s super old....”

Me: “That’s okay, I want him!”

Shelter worker: “And you wouldn’t be able to take him today because he hasn’t been fixed yet...”

Me: “That’s okay, I want him!”

Shelter worker: “And he is heartworm positive and will need treatment for that.”

Me: “Listen. I want him!”

They took us back to the cat room, not the dog room. I was very confused about why we weren’t going into the dog room. I was expecting to take home a medium to large sized dog that day and I walk into this room and see this little beagle. My expectations went out the window at the moment. I started to have doubt creep into my mind and I worried that he was not the right dog and I should just wait. Then, it was like something hit me and said give him a chance.

They started telling us about him;

•He is 10-12 years old.

•He needs to have dental surgery (he ended up having two).

•He cannot see out of his right eye and it’s deformed.

•He cannot see in the dark out of the other eye.

Also,

•He wouldn’t lick your face

•He doesn’t like to cuddle

Most people would have said no to this dog because he’s old and seems like a lot of work.

Me: “I want him”

The next week, on August 22, I picked up my new friend. Throughout the time I have had him, I’ve got to watch this “old man” act like a puppy. After about 1-2 months, he blossomed and became so goofy. I found out he was terrified of thunder storms, which also became the first night he slept in my bed. I woke up in the middle of the night and found him cuddled into my chest.

If you are on the fence about going to the shelter and getting a dog, DO IT!!!! Some of the best dogs just need someone to say “I want him.”

Just like, some of the best people just needed God to say “I want them.”

dog
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.