Petlife logo

Hot Dog

My Dogs Are Hotter Than Yours

By Violet HamiltonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1

I remember it all like it was yesterday. It was Friday, October 13, 2011. Friday the 13th. I should have named these two Jason Vorheese and Michael Myers. Literally, it was two weeks before Halloween. I passed all my classes that semester even math and science my two most difficult subjects and I was happy. Very happy. My dad was happy too, of course. Any parent would be. I was eleven years old. I felt entitled to ask Dad to buy me a puppy. I have always wanted a puppy and it seems a good a time as any. I swore to myself that if I had one, I would take good care of it. I would learn to train it, I would wake up everyday to walk it, feed it, bathe it, etc. I'd never be too busy to spend time with it. And it would be my best friend. I have always wanted a puppy. They are so cute. And I hear dogs are truly loyal and love you unconditionally. Something like how God loves us. Actually, did you know dog spelled backwards is God? So there you have it. Dogs are truly awesome.

Dad promised me he would get one soon. And if I didn't get my way I would become the most annoying 11 year old in this town. My plans were to become this little whiny baby until my dad eventually gave in and bought me a dog.

"Dad, can we go to the pet shop and get a dog now?" I asked my dad.

"After dinner. Is your homework done?" He asked me.

"Yes."

We arrived at the Pet Shop in Valley Stream at around 6:30pm that evening. The store had a variety of caged animals and aquariums. I remember my Mom always wanted a new fish for her aquarium and the fish tanks were always so captivating and beautiful.

The smell of the pet shop is something different. Not always so pleasant. Still, I didn't care. I was here to buy my puppy, to finally buy my puppy and nothing in the world could dull my excitement about that.

The products being sold included: pet food, treats, toys, collars, leashes, cat litter, cages and tanks. Some pet stores provided engraving services for pet tags, which have the owner's contact information in case the pet gets lost. How cool. I thought.

Then at the back of the store I found the dogs. There were about eleven different dogs in cages. They were all different kinds of dogs. Sizes varied; some were small and some were big and all different colors. They were all excited to see me. Some started barking and others began jumping up and down. I instantly began to narrow in on the one I would choose. The one I would be taking home.

And there it was. I laid sight on a small dark brown quiet, precious canine in the corner of the shop all by himself... or herself. It didn't matter to me.

"That is a dachshund, also known as the wiener dog, lol," the pet store owner said. She must've noticed I had homed in on this dog like a guided missile.

My dad and I laughed at the same time. "That's funny," my dad said. "Is this all the dogs you have?"

"Pretty much. Unless you want to check the pet shop in the next town over," she said.

"I like this one," I said. "That won't be necessary...this is the dog. The one I want."

"Are you sure?" Daddy asked me.

"Yes. I am sure," I said.

"How much for this one?" Dad asked the pet store owner.

"That one is uh....$600. I can let her go for $500," she said.

I swallowed hard. $500 is kind of steep. But to my surprise my dad didn't flinch.

"We'll take it," my dad told her.

"Thank you, Dad," I said, with a smile the size of Texas.

"Just keep bringing home good grades," said Dad.

"Yes Sir," I said.

Nothing could prepare me for what happened next....Like, what the heck! Do you see what I'm looking at? Another small brown dachshund is bought out from the back at that very moment.

"What's that?" I asked pointing to the other dog.

"That's her twin brother," the store owner said.

"Whose twin?" I asked.

"The dog that you are taking home," said the pet store owner.

"What!?"

This is just heartbreaking. I can't break up a family. I can't. No, I wont do it.

But, on the other hand, I'm not going to even think about asking dad.

"So you thinking we should get the two puppies instead of just one?" Dad asked me, to my surprise.

He continued, "I bet you think they’ll keep each other company while you’re at school. And Daddy will help and mostly take care of the dogs. It can’t be that much more trouble, right?"

I started to speak, "Think again," he said, interrupting my words. "It takes a lot of work on your part to properly socialize and train just one puppy. And now you talking about having two?"

"I understand, dad. But I didn't say anything," I said.

He continued, "I can see it in your little face....You think they would entertain each other? They will, but not by playing checkers together while you are in school. Shredding the sofa is much more fun with a buddy. They will be partners in crime."

I started thinking. Twice the mess. Two puppies are harder to housetrain than one. This is true. Even I know that.

Dad just wouldn't stop. He continued, "twice the expense. Double the cost of regular puppy bills – food, grooming, veterinary costs, toys, dog training, doggie day camp, etc.," he said, throwing his hands up in the air.

A beat. Dad looked at me and asked me, "this is your call. What do you want to do?"

I looked up and gave him the biggest smile ever.

I decided to name the newest additions to our family Bourbon and Espresso. They are so precious and their names are a direct reflection of their looks-and personalities. Bourbon is the boy and Espresso is his sister. Bourbon coat is a deep reddish-brown color like bourbon. He is very calm and relaxed. He is playful but well mannered. Espresso like her name, is always hyper-active. She likes everything her way and can be every stubborn. Sassy she is and doesn't always listen to me or dad when we direct her.

So now I beautifully explain, I am very blessed to have been allowed to be their mom. I am grateful every day. As different as Bourbon and Espresso are, the one thing they have in common is they both equally want to hump everything in site. When we are at the park, they also love to mark their territories, sniff other dogs and play and bark at almost everyone. We kind of joke about it, but some people get really upset so I have to watch them constantly. They are also very jealous and if and when I try to pet another dog. They hate when I show any other dog attention. The get really hot-headed. And anytime I'm eating anything they try to take it. They drive me absolutely crazy. So when it was time to decide what I was going to dress them as for Halloween, only one thing I could think of.

"Hot dogs," dad and I said at the same time with a laugh. How f'in cute is that?

THE END

dog
1

About the Creator

Violet Hamilton

Born in Harlem. Raised in The Bronx. Wrote multiple Award-Winning Cast and Crew screenplay "What If" and "Trickster." Educated. World traveler. I now reside in Long Island, New York. I adore writing. It's the only time I get to play God.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.