Petlife logo

Honey we adopted a pitbull!

What a blessing she is!

By Aimee ReadPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Raven at 8 weeks

About five years ago, I was not really looking to adopt a puppy but I saw that a rescue group semi-close to home had a Boston Terrier puppy and she needed a forever home. We had lost our dog several months prior and my heart still ached for that loss but my husband loves Boston Terriers. I couldn't resist and I put in an application for her before even talking to him. Once I told him, he was more than happy to help along the process of adopting through a rescue group. A few days later, we found out we were approved and made a plan to travel the few hours to adopt her the following weekend.

The manager of the rescue was also her foster parent. We got up early that Saturday and surprised our children with the news that we were adopting a puppy. We drove 2 hours to the foster's house for our meet and greet. If we thought she was a good fit for our family then we could take her home the same day. When we arrived, we found out that our puppy was being fostered with another puppy and had been staying in a fenced in area of a garage because the foster's own dogs were sick and had to be quarantined in the house. We were welcomed into the garage to meet a happy bundle of joy named Raven. Our children were beyond excited at this point and I realized there was no going back. Raven was adorable but was most definitely not a Boston Terrier. I searched my husband's face for any signs that he realized she was not a Boston Terrier and the only thing I noticed was he was totally smitten. I had no idea what to do because we had driven two hours, we had involved our children, and the thought of this adorable puppy sleeping in a hot garage in the middle of August was heartbreaking. So I did what any other sane person would do, I adopted her. I paid the adoption fee and signed the contract while my husband and children loaded back up for our two hour drive back home. I also checked to make sure the other puppy in the garage didn't also need us to be his forever home. Fortunately his meet and greet was scheduled for an hour later and the foster parents promised to let me know if for some reason it didn't go well.

By the time we made it home, I too was completely smitten and trying to figure out if my husband knew we had adopted a pitbull. He had and he was not bothered by it one bit. Our families met her and they all knew right away that Raven was not a Boston Terrier. My Mom and Aunt also both knew she was a pitbull and warned me that she would be much larger and possibly harder to take care of. I appreciated all the advice anyone wanted to offer and I set to work with training her. She had her first vet visit a few days after we adopted her and when the vet saw that her paperwork said Boston Terrier, he chuckled a little and then made sure to ask if I knew she was no Boston Terrier. A few weeks went by and without meaning to Raven became my dog. I adopted a dog I wasn't sure I wanted for my husband and children but Raven adopted me. She is my shadow and my joy. She stole my heart and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Raven at 12 weeks!

Several years later, we still laugh about that unexpected outcome. She is a smaller sized pitbull weighing close to 50 lbs. She is smart and happy. Her tail wags so hard sometimes that her whole back end sways back and forth. She gets what we call the zoomies and will run her little heart out in circles around us. She loves people and other dogs. She now has two canine siblings that she loves and one feline sibling that terrifies her. She may not be a Boston Terrier as her paperwork still says but she is my baby and I would not change a thing about her. I can't imagine ever adopting any other breed again. We adopted her brother from the same rescue a year later and he is the reason why I can call Raven a small pittie. He weighs a little over 90 lbs and he too is a joyful loving pitt-mix. People often ask if we were mad that the rescue group misrepresented Raven in her paperwork and honestly we can't be mad. We adopted what we thought was a boxer-mix puppy from another rescue a little over a year ago. Her name is Roxy. She is not a boxer-mix either but that is a story for another time.

How can anyone ever be mad about this little cutie we call Raven?

adoption
5

About the Creator

Aimee Read

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.