Petlife logo

Honey Bear

living like the legend

By Samantha ElizabethPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Honey Bear Brown.

My little four-legged partner in crime. There's no other soul I'd rather spend the uncertainty and growth that is my twenties with.

Misreading her flight arrival time by an entire twelve hours and having to race across the state of Florida before she got shipped back to Puerto Rico was not the start I'd hoped for. Our rocky beginning called for a naked-puppy trip to the pet store, but as our story always has a way of working out, finding the last, and only, harness that would fit my skinny street dog.

Shopping has a way of tiring us women out, so my little cub slept on my lap the entire drive home. Honey started her career as the life of the party from day one, though, moonlighting at our local tiki bar that evening. Not six hours after being in the states she accompanied me for a drink at her first of many bars.

My girl takes the motto 'work hard, play hard' seriously though. After a restful night of furry snuggles, she demonstrated 'sit' moments after learning it. That accomplishment may or may not have been aided by a giant pretzel minus the beer cheese.

She started her beach bum career early, too. We lived just twenty minutes from the ocean at the time, and sunset walks quickly became our ritual. Honey creating sand tornadoes, lapping me at the speed of light, eliciting the deepest belly laughs I've ever felt. Girl likes to move.

Jet-set Honey Bear was wheels up just a week later... Christmas time! We flew with my grandparents up to the winter tundra of Maine, and she showed her true (peach) colors the entire journey. No accidents, no barks, and many new friends later, we arrived.

Trading the sand for snow, the little firecracker did not skip a beat. Quickly taking charge of the double-dog herd that consisted of her and my family's Golden, Nemo. Making herself the center of attention at the holiday festivities and quickly winning over the heart of my mother who has firmly against a puppy. The girl knew what she wanted, and didn't take no for an answer.

Like mother like daughter, I suppose.

The eventful first few weeks we shared together spilled over into the next few years. Three trips around the sun later, and we're still at it.

Honey and I have moved from Florida, to central Maine, to Raleigh, back up to coastal Maine, and now we've circled down to the sunshine state for the winter.

She's always down for a road trip or just a short trip up the road to Grandma's. Florida is a little flat for hikes.. but on our summer Maine island that is all we do. This little lady has summited most of the peaks in Acadia National Park. On our way back to Maine for the summer, we plan on conquering the red rocks of the west.

In a world as wild as this one, I don't know where I'd be without my Bear. I'd be lost without my adventure buddy, quite a bit depressed without her daily snuggles, and way less patient of a human.

Sharing my life so closely, with another creature that can't even speak the same language, has been the greatest blessing. I've learnt how to always be prepared, and to expect the unexpected. What it truly means to put someone else first... I now know how to live for another.

She reminds me to always find joy in the present moment. She even brings the sunshine on those days where I can't find it, no matter how diligently I look. I think we could all learn a little something from this smiling pup.

Her determination is entirely unmatched. Enviable. The way she ceaselessly leaps up the tree trunk hiding the squirrel, no matter how many times she falls way, way short.

Honey's dedication to befriending every single being that crosses her path quickly leads her to local celeb status wherever we land. She's an honorary hostess at too many restaurants to count, and we intend to keep the infinite list expanding.

She can turn an old man into a little kid again. Bring laughter out of a miserable old woman. Honey's super powers are endless. I can't wait to see how the adventure continues.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Elizabeth

just sharing what's in my brain (:

fact or fiction, all of these stories are written in hopes that they find the people they need to find.. that they can give voice to something inside of you that maybe you couldn't quite say yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.