Petlife logo

Hey cooper, remember that time you got neutered ?

A story about the time my cat got neutered

By Christina EpperlyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

In the year 2016 I was blessed with a beautiful and fuzzy gift. My boss at the time gave me a kitten that her neighbor had found in a trash can outside of a mall. I decided to name my new kitten cooper after my favorite celebrity and one of the best rock stars to ever live Alice Cooper. Cooper was and still is a very cute cat. He cute little face and adorable personality are always making me smile. At the end of the following year when I looked at my most liked posts from that year .There was one picture that stood out to me. It was the ninth picture in the grid. It was a selfie that I took in the car while I was holding Cooper. I thought that this was funny because there was a story behind that picture that makes it more interesting then it appears to be. As most people know the majority of cats do not like to go on car rides for fun. If you have your cat in the car there is usually a really good reason for that. When I took this picture the reason he was in the car was because he had just been neutered. Additionally the reason why he was so calm and looked right at the camera as I held him was because the drugs form the surgery had not worn off yet. He was still in a daze from the operation he just went through but I was overjoyed to have him back in my arms. I know how important it is to spay and neuter your pets. There is a major overpopulation issue with it comes to cats and dogs. However, I was so scared when I dropped him off that morning. I knew it was very routine procedure that he was getting and that I should not be worried but I was. It was too expensive to go to a vet’s office to get it done so we had to take him to the cheapest place I could find, spay and neuter program at the county. I don't remember exactly what the price was but it was much more affordable than any vet we could find. I remember when I dropped him off there was someone else that was nervous to leave their cat there as well. It was hard to leave him but I knew I would be seeing him again that afternoon. I couldn't help but worry that something would go wrong. I'm happy to say that all my worries were for nothing. The surgery went fine and he was ready to go home that afternoon. When it was finally time to pick him up after the surgery, I was so happy to see his cute fuzzy face again. He was awake when we arrived to pick him up and the staff member told us that he responded to his name. He was alert to a certain extent but he still had drugs in his system. I was relieved that Cooper would not contribute to the overpopulation problem but I was also very relieved that the surgery was complete and we wouldn't have to go through that again. I held him on the way home, I was so happy to be with him again. When we got home he was still not a hundred percent yet. He had a hard time walking so we had to bring his water to him. Now his surgery is just a thing of the past and we joke about the time we had to drive a drunken cat home. I was so glad to have him back in my arms again after the surgery. I was also overjoyed to have him back in my arms when he had been rescued from a tree but that’s a whole different story.

cat
1

About the Creator

Christina Epperly

Hello There ! I'm a blogger, writer and bucket lister! My bucket list has over 300 items on it. I am big believer in enjoying the little things in life. I also love collecting toys.

John 3:16

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.