Petlife logo

Happy Go Lucky

Our work. At, Lucky

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

You know, when I saw this channel on Vocal, I was excited. I knew who my empawyee of the month was straight away, because I sent a picture I took of her to a popular magazine in the UK. I got £25 quid for it, and a big buzz from the publication. I don’t think she was bothered that much because she dosen’t read magazines much. I think she would shred it to bits if there was one near by.

My nominee for the EmPAWyee of the month goes to Lucky. My workplace has been home to many creatures over the years, but none have made more of an impact than a black and white cat called Lucky. Lucky got her name after being discovered wrapped up in a plastic bin bag as a kitten. She has since grown up to be a beloved pet to the home, although some of the residents first said they prefer dogs, they’ve gotten used to her and they let her sleep on the bed.

She is lovely to the residents, but to the staff… Lucky has been known to scratch and bite. I’ve seen people go home with a plethora of scratch marks on their arm. If you give her some treats, food and empty her litter tray, she can be nicer to you. I don’t know if it’s the uniforms that alarm her or if she can detect when people are stressed. I have a feeling she can tell who the cat people are. She’s never scratched me. She lets my friend, Patan pick her up and stroke her belly.

The reason I have chosen Lucky to be Vocal’s EmPAWyee of the month is because she is always there. She keeps the residents company and does a great job keeping their pillows warm. One of the residents has even dubbed her the name of Peepee. Lucky has really brightened up the lives of others. When she comes running to us, it really brings a smile on our faces. I think she’s a beautiful cat, even though she is very cheeky.

She became very good friends with one of he residents and would always sleep on her bed next to her cat plushie. On the day she died, it was reported that Lucky stayed by her side until her final hours.

On top of that, I remember her as a small and scared kitten. I think she still has some trauma over what happened to her as a kitten, which is why she sometimes goes for the staff. Never seen her go and attack a patient. Ive known her to come up and bite and scratch staff with no explanation. Nowadays, I’ve never seen or heard of her attacking anyone. As she’s gotten older, she has grown into a caring cat.

Her main hobbies include running through the corridors, sleeping on the sofa, playing with pens and rolling about on the floor. She is very playful. She loves playing with toys and likes her catnip very much. In many ways you can say she is like many other cats. She loves to be dominant and rule the roost.

Lucky has been with us since she was only a few weeks old and she has grown up and become a wonderful asset to the workplace. During lockdown, she kept everybody’s spirits up. I think it’s something that we all needed during the lockdown period.

At work, it is very easy to fall into the harsh, yet endless cycle of negativity. Somebody is always moaning about somebody. Our skills and integrity is always being questioned at work. We are expected to perform nothing lower than pure perfection. It’s animals like Lucky that remind us about the humanity of the world. There is still some positivity being spreaded at work, even if it‘s not by a human.

cat
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.