Petlife logo

Goldfish Rock

My goldfish writing companion

By Kat MavroPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Goldfish Rock
Photo by Ahmed Zayan on Unsplash

She has been sitting in that same corner for a few years, but not as long as I have been in my corner of the room. She was a carnival goldfish and the only survivor of the six that my younger brother and I brought home. She was my younger brother’s fish and she soon became his pride and joy. My brother named his fish Jason after the hero from Greek mythology. We found out later that the fish was female when she laid eggs, but never changed her name.

Jason became part of the family and resides in the living room where I also work and write. She stares at me quite frequently while I write, probably hoping I will give her food. Sometimes I will stare back at her and watch her swim or play with rocks. Usually I try not to look back at her, because if I give Jason any attention she thinks I will feed her. We have a relationship, I guess, but it is more of a professional acquaintanceship, since she lives in my workspace. We see each other every day, work in the same building, watch each other do our daily tasks. I will give Jason food from time to time, but I can’t say we’re close. I’m a writer and student, she’s a fish, I don’t see how we could be closer than our circumstances allow.

I enjoy the white noise of Jason’s filter while I write and I can proudly say that fish are not that distracting. Fish are beautiful and fascinating, yes, but if you have your back to a fish you kind of forget it is there because, fish don't do much. Jason’s tank sits in a corner next to the window, facing east. I am a morning person and tend to write in the morning. When the sun rises I love the way the sun reflects off of Jason’s tank into my corner on the opposite side of the room. It is absolutely beautiful and one of those little things you don’t think about much.

The only really annoying thing about Jason, I believe is also her only joy in life, other than food, of course. Jason loves to play with the rocks at the bottom of her tank. She loves to dig through her pebbles, suck the algae off them, and spit them back out. This causes very annoying, inconsistent, clicking noises.

The clicking of the rocks are less annoying and quiet when Jason takes the rocks up to the top of her tank and drops them. Jason usually watches the rocks sink to the bottom, before doing it again. When she does this I usually stop to watch, because it really is fascinating. I could watch that goldfish drop rocks from the top of the tank all day to be honest. I wonder how she figured out how to do that. I have been told that fish, especially goldfish, are not that smart. After knowing Jason, however, I don't believe that statement anymore.

While she is not my fish, Jason is probably the best writing companion. She is a pretty passive pet and does not leave her corner. Jason doesn't really make noise unless she is playing with her rocks or splashing my brother when he goes to feed her. I have to say Jason is an amazing fish.

I will admit when my carnival goldfish died I was very sad and disappointed. I was glad though that at least one of them survived, even if it wasn’t one of mine. Right now, as I write this article, Jason is swimming across the room from me living her best fishy life. Jason swims in her corner and I sit in mine, the way it’s always been since she arrived. I have to say I couldn't have asked for a better writing companion than Jason the goldfish.

Thank you so much for reading! Subscribe for more!

fish
2

About the Creator

Kat Mavro

Warning: Adventure ahead

Follow me on Youtube @KatMav and Instagram @katmavrick for article/story updates

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.