Petlife logo

Going Viral

Has its perks

By Michelle KingPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

So we were out with our American Bulldogs one day for a walk, Kano was 8 months or so old at the time. We came across this bridge, it had fallen down but it was our only way of crossing to get home.

Kano on the left and Buddy on the right

Going back wasn't an option as we had walked for 2 hours, my son was due out of school at 3pm, so we had to cross in order to get him on time.

The bridge had iron beams but nothing else so it was going to be a balancing act.

Kano being a pup just walked across no problem, back and forth he went where Buddy our older dog was much more hesitant.

I looked at the beam and thought "I'm gonna fall" I put my foot on the beam and instantly felt myself lean over to one side, I put my arms out like a scare crow and just went for it... I made it just!! but almost fell in.

By Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Kano followed me and then turned to go back whilst still on the beam and SPLOSH! he fell in, the water was deep enough he swam to the edge and up he went, gave himself a shake and crossed the beam again.

Buddy on the other hand was still trying to find a way across he was not for crossing the beam at all but he was too scared to swim as it was territory we had never been to before, we had not long moved into the area so was still getting to know the nature trails and walks.

My hubby was trying his best to coach Buddy over but he was having none of it he just looked at me on the other side and gave a moan/howl... like he was saying "MUM" "I CAN"T DO IT".

Kano fell in again and then again and again... I am sure he liked it as it never put him off once he just swam and got back up to do it again.

I took my phone out of my pocket and started filming and sure enough he fell again, this time I got it on film. I laughed so hard it was a seriously funny moment.

By Amir Hanna on Unsplash

My attention turned to our older dog, I tried coaxing him over and my hubby was trying desperatley to get him to cross the beam with him, eventually he had to take hold of his harness and guide him over. This was a picture it was like a train of Bulldogs.

Once across Buddy looked at me, his face looked like a cross old man. He gave a shake and we began walking home.

By Andre Hunter on Unsplash

Later that evening me and my hubby were looking at the footage as it was funny, we got 4 clips all together so we stitched them together to make one longer clip.

We watched it a dozen times, sides sore with laughter. So I decided to put the clip on Tik Tok. It went viral overnight with thousands of views.

I was on facebook one day and got a message from Viral Hog asking about the video of Kano on Tik Tok they wanted to buy it and own the rights of it, they told me that it would be available to 38 different organisations that deal with clips including You Tube, Facebook and even the Ellen show.

I agreed, they drew up a contract and I signed it, any revenue the clip made we got 55% of the sales.

One day I was emailed by Viral hog asking if I would do a TV interview for a Japanese TV show called NHK Global Media similar to You've been Framed in the United Kingdom. I agreed they paid $450... our first sale!

By 金 运 on Unsplash

We get revenue from You Tube on a monthly basis and the clip made a TV show in India again similar to our You've been Framed. Facebook bought the clip for $200.

The clip has made just under $1000 since Dec 2020. Not bad for a funny moment caught on film. The wonders of mobile phones they do allow us to capture cool moments like this.

We have walked to that bridge again but this time it was fixed, we think it might have fallen due to bad weather, I'm glad in a way as I caught a funny moment that will stay with me forever.

It has also given us initiative to try and capture more viral moments. If anyone would like to view our page on Tik Tok it is called Ambulladventures. The profile picture is of our 2 pups and my friemds pup who happens to be our bitches twin.

Here is the clip... enjoy I hope it makes people smile the way it made us smile.... stay safe people... PEACE!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Michelle King

I write from the heart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.