Petlife logo

Going, going, gone

Man’s best friends are leaving! Where will humanity go?

By Jan PortugalPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Photo by Richard Tadman

I met Barnabus when he was still a fledgeling learning to flap his wings. He was just a couple of months old. In human year's I wasn't much older, I still had no body hair, not like Tyler. What a difference four years made, Ty at 16 was already contemplating shaving. I was still being mesmerized by a young barn owl.

Barnabus and I became bosom friends. I made sure his life in our barn would be carefree. I supplied the field rodents with grain sprinkled on the barn floor so Barnabus would never go hungry. We learned in school how animals have been loosing their hunting grounds. The influx of man developing and expanding his world has caused a decline in so many of wild creature’s habitats. They are starving to death.

I was so moved by that information I promised this will not happen to Barnabus. “We are going to have the best life.” I told him, stroking His soft white breast. It was the closest I’d ever felt to exchanging unconditional love. It was a satisfied fullness that felt like we were naturally born into. It's the way creatures of Earth were intended to feel. Before man turned away from his divine source. The same source all Animals are in constant touch with. They emanate and share it instinctively. It is the substance of all life. It is embedded in our DNA. Lying dormant waiting for the Resurrected One to awaken and free it.

If only man could see the shadow world created by the Heavy Matter mind invents. It seems to fade away in the presence of animals. Together we dance our life, because together we're just conscious atoms sharing the source of our Radiant Being. This is the joy man denies himself by ignoring the immensity of it. It is easier to hunt and kill and ignore than to understand and nurture. Extinction is the blight created by this absence. Man is finally discovering after thousands of years free will can be destructive and has consequences.

Often times after school, I brought my homework up to the loft where Barnabus and I would hang out. We shared a God-like state of being. Barnabus felt like an omniscient friend. God and Nature are expressions easily recognized. Burried deep in the Heart’s secret chambers. A place of many mysteries. And my new friend and I were going to share it. We were gifted to each other.

Since he was still a young bird learning to fly. He must have flown into our barn on one of his maiden flights. I was in the barn stacking sacks of grain to take to town for delivery, when I heard a rustle and thud in the loft. As soon as I reached the top rung I saw him. He was flapping and scattering his fluff in an attempt to control his awkwardness. I could tell right off it was a show of pride. The air between us softened into an immediate trust. We were curiously drawn to each other.

It was one of those moments we both knew our destinies were intertwined. We existed somewhere on another plane. In a world we would discover together. Silently we understood and appreciated that. I invited him to stay and said “I Dub thee Sir Barnabus.” The book I was reading was The Once and Future King. In my 12 year old mind I was living in King Arthur’s magic kingdom where even the lowly Barn Owl had sacred powers. His significance was deeply felt.

When I had chores to do like clean out the horse stalls, Barnsbus would perch himself on an overhead beam and watch me. He made a variety of chucking sounds and screeching tones to express a deluge of opinions. Sometimes I picked up on his wisdom, after I learned to decipher them. He reciprocated my respect and devotion with vociferous screeching sincerity.

His skills developed along with mine to communicate the billions of year's of differences in our species. And yet our bond became a colition of oneness. Silently we both felt it. I felt it when we were apart. I wondered if he felt my presence from great distances. I just had to picture him in my mind’s eye and we were together. It had a strange magnetic allure.

Our relationship was brilliant. We became lucent in each other's company. Dog and cat owners alike concur that effulgence is what animals bring to a relationship.

One summer there was an electrical storm. Wild flashes of lightning drew violently to the earth. I could hear Barnabus’s distinctive screeching in the barn all the way in the house I immediately sensed danger, he was reaching out to alert me that lightning had struck the barn and set it on fire. I woke Dad and Ty to rescue the horses and put out the fire. Fortunately Barnabus notified me as soon as it happened and the loss and damage was minimal.

Sir Barnabus was in his way, a kind of Savior and acquired a hero’s reputation, for which he repeatedly lived up to. He approached his manhood with a knowing acquired from our friendship. I was 15 and starting to notice how pleasing girls were. Barnabus was out searching the dark night for his own hearts reflection. His love hunt incurred long loud screeching sounds to attract a life mate. Mine was more displayed in awkward shy incantations that only the right girl could find fascinating. We were coming into what life considered manhood.

In time we both connected. Laura Jean with her dark Auburn hair, flashing green eyes and and fetching smile, was to become my future playmate. A companion and best friend going on thirty odd years. Barnabus invited his pretty speckled chested helper to come live in his tiny paradise home and raise his own family. The first year they produced five hatchlings, and in a few months another four eggs appeared.

Barnabus was a good provider and his reward was a fertile legacy. I decided to name his new partner the Lady Grinaveer, she had an expression on her face that made her look like she's smiling, and she brought so much joy to my friend.

Photo by Robert E. Fuller

Barnabus and Grin lived a long and fruitful life in our barn and was still around when I took off for college He actually lived to the ripe old age of 18 which is very unusual for any owl species.

I like to think it was due to our life-long special bond. I know how much wisdom and understanding I gained from it. I was not home when he passed, but felt an ethereal sadness that is still in my heart. And also the knowledge that no matter where creatures go in the afterlife, Barnabus was a huge part of my growth in this one and I can't count the ways he enriched it, especially knowing it was completely reciprocal.

Barn owls still occupy our old barn. Barnabus’s living legend continues. With any luck his genes have become a large part of making everything right in the world. The mythology continues.

Thank you for reading my story.

bird
1

About the Creator

Jan Portugal

I love the adventure writing takes me on. I enjoy the idea of sharing them with an audience. I hope you enjoy my visions too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.