Petlife logo

Furry Bones

Critter Costume

By Nettie BPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
www.etsy.com/shop/NBPhotoArt

October is by far my favorite month of the whole year. Temps are getting cooler, sweater weather is starting, leaves are changing, pumpkin spice in every possible food or drink combination from every company on the grocery shelf. But the best part of October is the holiday that is over way too soon; Halloween!

Scary movies, haunted houses, strange noises, and the mind just runs wild. The various types of candy and chips that begin to fill the isles and the decor and costumes that slowly make their way into our lives. Any age, any belief, any idea, and any size can find the perfect costume, even those on four legs.

Now, I'm not one to get all crazy about dress up with my furry baby. But when a contest comes up at the local pet store, how can I resist! I'm all about winning and participating in events that get me and my dog Aria out and about. So a quick walk through the pet store and I find the perfect costume, a skeleton!

Seems only fitting, a dog full of fur now has to display its bones for the world to see AND it glows in the dark for added protection at night.

As you can see, Aria is thrilled to death with the costume's feel and look. Even though she doesn't have human feelings, she knows her mom is doing something that is VERY embarrassing and wants no part of it. So as I laugh, chuckle, take photos, and post on Facebook I find another contest. A photography contest! Well, I'm all for that!

But this contest has a little twist. It has to be of you AND your pet, hmmm. I think I can make it work. So I go to my closet, find a few props and then get down next to her for our self-portrait.

For a moment, the spotlight is off of her and onto me as she questions, again, what the heck am I doing? Shot was taken and it is off to the online contest. Next, comes the pet store. A little reluctant to go in all dressed up and, really, really, not being cooperative because having a photo taken at the house is one thing, but in public, for all to see?

She doesn't think so, but they were able to snap a quick one before she scooted off to go "shopping" for her reward.

I did dress her up again the next year, this one was simple and cute but it didn't take her long to let me know how she really felt about it.

As you can see, from the video that costume is done and done with no hopes of ever coming back for a second year. I can't help but laugh at how done she is with the holiday and the fact that she did with the X-Files Theme Song makes it even better.

I make a promise to her. I will never, ever, take her out in public dressed up like something she isn't. From now on it is bandannas only!

Of course, that doesn't mean I can't dress her up at home, in the confines of my basement.

Now, that is one pretty little gal. I always knew she would look good in long, curly hair. Fooled again! Her excitement can't be contained but I love it and thinks she looks great.

One more change before I let her go. It's like being on the "Live With Regis & Kelly" show. After the segment is over it is time to change into a new character. This time a scarf, and new wig.

Oh, yeah. Now that is definitely a winner!

If you enjoyed this adventure leave me a gift below. Until next time, enjoy the day!!!

dog
2

About the Creator

Nettie B

Welcome! Thanks for stopping by, if you like my posts, show your support with a tip, pledge, or subscribe. Also, check out my website at www.ko-fi.com/nbphotoart for more of my photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.