Petlife logo

Francie the Sheepadoodle

He’s stubborn and difficult but he’s all mine!

By Margie Anderson Published 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Francie sitting in my flowers!

Francie is my nine year old mini Sheepadoodle. I thought mini meant that he was going to be small but he’s a little on the big side! Either way I love him to death. I grew up in a family that loved cats so I never really knew much about dogs. I assumed I would always have cats since that’s what I grew up with but I am definitely a dog person. When I got Francie “Adopt Don’t Shop” wasn’t advertised that much. At least, I don’t remember reading about it. So I did purchase Francie from a breeder but honestly I don’t think anyone else wanted him. I sort of sensed something was up with him when out of a litter of about ten puppies he was the only one available. He was spoken for at one point but that person backed out. Then when all the puppies in the litter were posted online every single puppy was posing in a little tub. But not my Francie...he was sitting on the ground, no tub and no pose! Regardless of my hesitation, I went ahead with my purchase of him. I often wonder what would have happened to him if I wouldn’t have taken him. He was born in Texas and I live in Pennsylvania so there was no way for me to visit with him beforehand.

Well, from the moment I picked him up at the airport and first took him out of his crate, he was a bugger! Now he was a puppy so I didn’t think much about it. He was absolutely adorable but he sure had a mind of his own. The older he got though his personality didn’t change at all. I tried training him on my own but I was not successful. He was stubborn, aggressive and he bit me often. He refused to listen at all. To this day all he knows how to do is “sit” and he only does that if I have something he really wants. I had to hire a trainer and due to some medical issues I had to pay the trainer to come to my house since I was unable to drive. It wasn’t cheap and even she couldn’t train Francie! My grandmother was pretty good at training dogs and she actually trained our other dogs to stay around the house. But not Francie, if he’s not tied or on a leash he is out of here!

FRANCIE

Despite his difficult personality, I love him just the same as my other pets. I just had to learn to adjust to his personality that is all. Yes, I get upset when he gets away from me and I have to run around the neighborhood trying to catch him and when I do finally catch him I am thankful he didn’t get hurt. You see things are even more difficult now, Francie developed diabetes and lost most of his eyesight. I was so sad when this happened but again we adapted and he seems like he is happy but just as bullheaded! It took about two months before he would let me give him his insulin shots without taking a big chunk out of my arm. He sits atop his crate (sometimes I wonder if he is half goat or if he considers himself the king of the castle) and waits for his piece of ham then he sits still for his twice a day insulin shots. He can’t see very well but he must have a pretty good memory because he knows his way around the house, he seems to know where we are going when we go for walks and when he gets away from me he still takes off in that same direction down the road.

Just like parents can’t choose their children’s personalities, dog owners can’t choose how their dogs will behave. It’s a little funny though because Francie is so strong-willed and downright bad most of the time, but he loves going to the veterinarian! He is well-behaved when I take him and he just loves the attention. My other dogs shake like leaves when they have to go but not my Francie. I always dress my pets up for Halloween but I have to wrestle to get a costume on Francie. Many years he ends up not wearing one but some how I got him in one this past year.

Halloween 2020 - “Star Wars”

I love you Francie no matter what, just like parents love all their children. I named you after Saint Francis of Assisi because he loved animals. You might be named after a saint but you certainly don’t act like one! However, I think your namesake must be watching over us for all we have been through together. You are so mischievous but I wouldn’t change anything about you. You make me smile when I am sad and I look forward to spending each day with you.

dog
5

About the Creator

Margie Anderson

Retired attorney from Pennsylvania.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.