Petlife logo

First Urban Adventure with My Sheepdog

Life Unleashed Challenge by LC Harrison aka Amy Chris Keiper

By Amy Chris Keiper aka LC HarrisonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Maddoc by Lueya

I have an urban living sheepdog, border collie, who has cats to herd instead of sheep, and he watches the cats in the upstairs gated corral. He will run from gate to gate looking to see where the cats might be hiding. He diligently watches them all day long. I think the cats are amused at times. Sometimes they will all be asleep on the day bed together at night.

It was the first time taking my dog, Maddoc the border collie out in a car ride to the pet store. Maddoc means "good" in Welsch. He was still only a half year old puppy, who comically keeps his ears straight up like a husky for reasons only Maddoc knows. He is brown and white with soft eyes, and is rather shy and also docile. He stays close to me and follows me dutifully round every turn. He insists on sitting on my lap when travelling in the car, but otherwise is well behaved and loves the ride. As a sheepdog in the city, he has the privilege of urban store shopping.

We arrived at the pet store, the mission was to get Maddoc some treats, chew sticks for teething, a new ball, and the unexpected seeking out a new ferret friend for his ferret brother waiting back at our home. Maddoc wasn't too interested in treat shopping, but liked picking out a new toy. He watched as I bought some cat food, and hid behind me whenever another dog or person would walk by. He wasn't sure about the clerk saying hello to him. He really didn't understand why we had stopped walking through the store at the cage where the pet ferrets were for sale.

I saw two sweet little ferrets, but the slightly comical blaze soon to become Vic McCoy stole my heart. It was something about how he walked and hopped about, and came right up to me with a quizzical look. Maddoc didn't pay any mind as I held the little ferret. Maddoc didn't pay attention as I proceeded to adopt the little ferret, filling out the paperwork, and picking up a couple extras to take home for the ferrets. All Maddoc knew was at last we were walking again to get in line at the register.

When it was our turn the cashier spoke to Maddoc about his new ferret friend, and offered Maddoc a treat. Maddoc was timid, but accepted and made sure to eat all his crumbs like a good boy. She wanted a picture of him, but he never poses or sits still for pictures. He was happy to be heading back to our car. While we rode home, he finally found a bit of curiosity for the box with Vic McCoy inside, but he remained good not disturbing the box or what might be inside.

Maddoc is afraid of steps, and was hesitant as usual to go up the steps at our front door. Once inside, he went about searching for cats, and didn't have a single care about me placing Vic McCoy into the two sided double cage to be with my other ferret Odo Dax. I was happy at how well behaved Maddoc had been, and at how the ferrets seemed to like each other. In a couple weeks, the two ferrets would be able to play together, running through both sides of the double cage. To this day, the only time Maddoc pays any mind to the ferrets is when they get fed, seemingly because Maddoc hopes it means he will get fed soon too.

Maddoc is still afraid of steps. But, I will never forget my good boy's trip to the pet store to buy a ferret. Not many dogs go shopping in the city, let alone to buy other little animal friends. Maddoc was a champion shopper, because he never tried to steal a treat, start a fight, growl, or take anything without permission. He is my good puppy, and I am glad he is my dog. I look forward to all of our future urban adventures together.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Amy Chris Keiper aka LC Harrison

I am a gothic Horror/Fantasy writer and poet, entertainer, musician, artist/designer, metaphysician & Minister (Reverend, Priestess).

"Without knowing imagination, sometimes doesn't it seem overbearing to believe in magic," ACK.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.