Petlife logo

Ferrets in the Time of Corona

What it’s like to have ferrets

By Emily ViggianiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ferrets in the Time of Corona
Photo by Steve Tsang on Unsplash

I am an animal-lover. I am vegetarian. I volunteered at a cat shelter for a long time. I feed the squirrels in my backyard forest with my mom. I help my mom name the squirrels. We have never gone without cats at home. I have been volunteering with an organization which benefits the rainforests of Costa Rica, as well, as their recording secretary for the board of directors.

Ferrets are in the weasel family, closely related to minks. As such, they are very vulnerable to the COVID-19 virus. (See: mink farm COVID-19 outbreaks in Denmark). They have weak respiratory systems, and should not be around candles, essential oils, perfume, or incense. They should be bathed with a special ferret shampoo, as well.

Ferrets need plenty of food and exercise. They are normally litter-trained from a very young age. As for their diet, they cannot digest plant-based food. They are not a vegan pet. If you see them eating bananas on instagram, they cannot digest bananas. Ferrets are not rodents. So, they need special ferret-specific kibbles, consisting solely of meat. Fish is fine for them, too. One of my ferrets loves minnow-based treats.

My ferrets can sit in my lap while I work, or rest on my shoulders. They love sleeping on their human. A lot of ferrets are bigger than mine are. Mine are spayed females so they stayed relatively small.

Generally, a ferret will live for eight to ten years. They are very affectionate, far more than cats. They are extremely energetic (half the time). The other half of the time, they sleep like corpses. Don’t be alarmed if they look dead - they are heavy sleepers.

While ferrets thrive on playtime, and being duked, be cautious of what is on the floor for them. They will eat peanuts and pennies and anything else that is on the floor. They like burrowing. This can be in your drawer, or down the furnace vent. So babyproof your room before they get out to play.

When I fall asleep, my ferrets climb on me and kiss my face. It’s the best feeling. Playing with the ferrets and watching them hop sideways is always a good time. They make squeaking noises when they’re excited. To excite them is called ”duking” the ferrets. Look duking up, it’s actually in the dictionary.

I got the ferrets in quarantine because I was really lonely. I can’t see my friends because I’m locked down here in Ontario, Canada. They really make each day better. We have no idea how long it will take for the lockdown to lift. It’s been a year, already.

However, once you become a ferret parent, you should give them a lot of attention every day. If you plan to go back to being away from home all the time, maybe a 10-year commitment isn’t right for you.

Pet adoptions have skyrocketed since the COVID-19 lockdowns. There are also cases of pets being abandoned not too long after a COVID-19 impulse adoption. Dogs are being left in cages outside in the cold. They basically are left to die.

Why am I talking about dogs in a ferret article? Because many people surrender ferrets after a few years, as well. Usually, they surrender the ferret more humanely, by giving them to a friend. However, people sometimes don’t realize what a big responsibility it is to adopt an animal.

Remember: animal cruelty is a virus. These strains of COVID-19, such as the mink farm in Denmark, or the bat in Wuhan, or even the Swine Flu, or Bird Flu, were caused by animal cruelty.

ferret
Like

About the Creator

Emily Viggiani

Vegetarian, ferret mom, Buddhist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.