Petlife logo

Dirk Wears White Socks

Not Adam And The Ants But A Cat Friend Of Mine

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
18
Dirk Tells Me He Wants Something

This is another story about #CatsinNam, well one cat in ‘Nam (That’s Fenham, not Viet-Nam).

As you know part of my steps regime to keep myself reasonably fit is to walk around taking photographs of cats, incidentally, some new neighbours also have a cat so there may be more to share in future.

Dirk In The Hedge

Anyway, this is about a cat that lives on a main road close to where I live, that I have nicknamed Dirk. The reason for this is that I shared a picture of him and someone pointed out that he wore white socks. That made me think of the Adam and the Ants song “Dirk Wears White Socks”. I am not sure what the song is about but I like it and I’ve included it for you to listen to in this story. On February 12th 2023 I was told that Dirk's real name is Tom.

I have created his own Instagram hashtag which is #DirkTheCatWithWhiteSocks so you can find all my recent encounters with him on my Instagram Channel, though I will change this to #TomTheCatWithWhiteSocks going forward.

Dirk and His Bowl

Most of the time he has his own space under a hedge with a plastic bowl for water (which is mostly rainwater I think).

Today as I was photographing him and stroking him a postman came up and told me he wasn’t a stray but owned by an old man who lived further up the road, and he comes out first thing in the morning and goes home when it goes dark.

I was aware of this as I meet Dirk most days especially when I replenish provisions when I visit the Co-Op and Dirk always wants to know what I have in my bag, but I don't buy cat treats, but one day I might do that for him, I am sure he would appreciate that.

The other week he was being tormented by some unruly boys and girls who were squirting orange cordial into his water, but Dirk just walked a little up the road and gave them a disdainful scornful look. I asked them what they thought they were doing and they immediately left and dropped the orange bottle which I threw in the bin. I replenished Dirk's water and he came back and sat in his hole in the hedge, and I think he was grateful.

Dirk (right) another cat (left)

On this stretch of road, Dirk does have an acquaintance but I am not sure if it is a friend, beau or foe but it has the same colour scheme as Dirk. I have only seen them together two or three times and they don't fight but just seem wary of each other.

Dirk on the throne

One day I actually saw Dirk sitting on his own chair. Obviously, it was being thrown out but he sat like an emperor ruling all he surveyed. The chair was only there for a day or two then Dirk went back to his hole in the hedge, but I thought the chair looked so much fun.

The thing is most days Dirk is very friendly and wants petting, he almost always comes to me often miaowing and demanding attention, but that is only to be expected as he is a cat, and he is a cat with white socks.

I can almost guarantee that every time I walk down this stretch of road Dirk will be there. Sometimes he will be asleep and not want to come out but other times he will be playful and sometimes very demanding.

Once or twice he has followed me further than he should I have been worried he might follow me across the road, but he seems sensible and stays on his side of the road.

So here concludes what happens when I meet up with Dirk in his white socks on my walks.

cat
18

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    He seems like a real character 😁

  • Celia in Underland7 months ago

    I'm just a tad smitten with Dirk! What a cutester! And I absolutely love that he has his own #! Awsome! Loved reading this, such a heartwarming piece 🤍

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Awe, Dirk seems like a community minded cat.

  • Sian N. Clutton7 months ago

    How endearing! I giggled when you said he had his own chair. Shame about the kids, little Sods.

  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    This was a heartwarming story! ❤️

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Mike, I loved this so much. I have sat here, drinking my tea and being tickled by your description of Dirk. And he may be Tom, but I think Dirk suits him much more. Thanks for sharing this!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I love the mindfulness of these interactions with Dirk. The images are great. That first one makes me laugh at the very top. 😁

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    I love your easy-going style that just invites us right in. I am in the community of cat lovers and Dirk is an absolutely perfect name for this beautiful creature.

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    Loved reading about your encounters with Dirk. I’m glad you chased away the kids that were bothering him. It’s so sad that they were harassing him. I wonder if Dirk knows he’s famous because of you.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I really enjoyed reading this. You wrote it so well and included several atmospheric details that I felt at that that I was reading fiction. Great job!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    There is such simple joy in this real-life story :) I love that you chronicle Dirk's days, and that he's just as much a constant for you as you are for him. I'm sure he loves seeing you each day.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    awww, what a sweet routine. Everybody needs a Dirk. :)

  • Randi O'Malley Smithabout a year ago

    I love seeing your photos of Dirk, thank you for sharing his story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Dirk is a cutie.

  • Dirk seems so adorable! I'm so glad you chased away those dumb kids. And whoa, Dirk has his own hashtag. That's awesome!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Cats are interesting individuals, aren't they? Thank you for sharing Dirk's story. 🐈‍⬛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.