Petlife logo

Daisy and Beanie

#7~ Long Walks and New Friends

By Krystal KatzPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Daisy and Beanie
Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

Daisy’s POV

We were born in a winter month — the winter month — right when this thick fluffy stuff called “snow” covered everything! It was pretty and looked like fun to jump around in, but it was so cold! And even when it wasn’t falling from the sky, the air still had a chill and the ground was all muddy. Our paws would always come inside covered in dirt, and our bodies would shake and shiver.

I don’t like the cold much— neither does Beanie.

So that’s why it’s so exciting now that the warm weather is here! They call it “spring”, and I think I like spring! It makes me happy to breathe in the fresh air and run around out in the open! There’s green grass everywhere, and there are so many smells and noises! Beanie and I thought we’d have a great adventure inside, but the outside world has so much more!

We go outside all the time, but today was our first real “walk”. All the other days have been too cold! Her Girl took us outside into the big lawn, and she walked us all along the houses. There was so much to see and so much uncertainty, so Beanie and I stuck close together. Sometimes I could hear Beanie whimpering because she was so nervous about being out in the open in a strange, new place.

But, after a bit of walking at Her Girl’s side, we got use to it, and then we were running around like crazy, chasing each other and nipping at each other’s ears and legs. The long grass tickled my legs, and sometimes I’d turn around in circles and attack the ground, too!

At one point, another dog came along! It was bigger than us, and Beanie was whimpering again and trying to climb onto Her Girl. I took one good look at Bean, and then at the new dog, and then I backed up defensively and let out a big bark! A bark I’d never let out before now! I barked at the top of my lungs, telling the other dog to back off and leave Beanie and I alone. I know I’m a small pup, but I’ve got a mighty bark!

The woman with the bigger dog pointed at me and laughed. With a smile upon her face, she said, “That big bark comes out of her?”

We ran around the grass for a little bit longer once the other woman left with her dog, and then it was time to go back inside. As we were heading back to our building, we heard, “Ohh! They’re so cute! What breed are they?”

Her Girl lifted her head and looked around. We all stopped walking, curious. Where did that voice come from? There was no one else around. Just us and Her Girl. But, the voice came again. “They are the cutest!” the voice repeated.

Unsure, Her Girl fixed her eyes on a random window and spoke back to them. But we never actually saw the person. Still, we continued to hear them say how cute we were as we walked back home.

We are little cuties… aren’t we?

Her Girl pet us and gave us lots of love when we got back, and then we curled up with Her Girl on her bed and went to sleep.

Walking and exploring the great outdoors sure is fun, but it is tiring!

But, we weren’t done with the adventures! Her Girl and My Girl took us for a car ride later on, and when we arrived at our destination, we saw Auntie A and Uncle B! But that wasn’t all! There was another dog with them! A bigger dog, with a long snout like Beanie. They called her “Kaira”.

My Girl and Her Girl put on our leashes, and we got out of the car to greet our friends! The new dog was… scary, though. She seemed harmless enough, but she was full of energy and she was twice our size, and she did a lot of fancy bouncing on her paws. Just like I did with the dog we saw back home, I backed defensively in front of Beanie, and I barked my heart out.

“I think you’re waking the whole neighborhood,” My Girl said, taking me into her arms. She pet me, and my ears flattened to my head. I watched Beanie whimper and climb onto Her Girl. “You’re okay, Baby Dais. You’re okay. Kaira won’t hurt you. She just wants to play.”

We walked around the block with Auntie A, Uncle B, Her Girl, My Girl, and Kaira. We kept our distance from Kaira at first, still a little nervous, but the more we walked, the closer we got and the more comfortable we felt. As long as she did not look at us, we were okay. I stopped barking at Kaira, and, instead of being defensive, I grew curious. I got close enough to Kaira to sniff her butt, and, with her backside towards me, I found that she wasn’t so scary after all!

The walk ended up being just as fun as earlier! I did a lot more running this time around, chasing after My Girl, Her Girl, Auntie A, and Uncle B! I had never run so fast in my life! But the sky grew dark pretty quickly, and we didn’t stay with our friends very long. After the walk, we played in the grass for a bit, and then we got back in the car.

We slept all the way home, pooped from all the fresh air and fun!

I’m glad it’s so much warmer out now! We’re going to go for walks all the time! And I hope we get to meet our friends more often, too! Springtime, here we come!

dog
1

About the Creator

Krystal Katz

I'm an aspiring writer and also an animal lover! I hope you enjoy all that I’ve posted!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.