Petlife logo

Dagney is a Southpaw; She Prefers the Left

What we once thought was odd, gives us hope of fame and fortune

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image from author's photo album

Anyone who parents a Yorkie will tell you they are simply breathing stuffed animals who desire hugs. They love to be packed around and smothered with attention. Dagney fits the mold perfectly. When I sit on the couch, she lays beside me, usually slightly touching my body, sometimes just a paw or sprawled out on top of my belly. After an eventful day, she looks like she has lost some stuffing, been dropped in a puddle or dragged on the ground.

Her opinions and attitudes set her apart from a doll

When we pick Dagney up, she repositions herself to face the left. At first, the subtle shifts of her body went unnoticed, but eventually, little tells made my husband and I aware of her preference. For example, after some time of holding her, our arms got tired, so we shifted her to the right side. Dagney slid, shimmied, and snaked her body around until she laid curled in the crook of a left arm. After readjusting her several times, we realized she intentionally maneuvered her body to face left.

Thinking that was weird, we dismissed it as a quirk until we noticed a pattern on daily walks. I hold the leash in my right hand. When Randy walked on my left, Dagney continually crossed in front of both of us to walk on the left – always the left. She never refused to walk on the right but stealthily moved to the left without us noticing until we became tangled in the leash. Over time, it simply became easier to walk with her on the left.

Image from author's photo album

It seems this is not expected behavior for a dog because when we took her to the vet for vaccinations, she positioned Dagney facing right. In unison, Randy and I blurted out, “She won’t sit facing right.” She looked at us like we had gone mad. But then shook his head when she loosened her grip and Dagney whirled to the left.

Though her behavior surprised our small-town vet, apparently this is not an unusual trait for a dog.

“She [Dr. Lloyd, a veterinary lecturer from James Cook University] said while only 10 per cent of humans were lefties, nearly 50 per cent of dogs favored their left paw. They certainly have a preference for one side over another."

I will admit, Dagney may be a little spoiled

When the children grew up and moved out, a quiet emptiness entered our home. In discussions Randy and I agreed, having another child was out of the question, so we adopted a dog. At first, she cried at night, so I comforted her in my bed. Then she fell asleep at my side while we watched The Tonight Show and I did not want to move her peaceful body that reminded me of the teddy bear from my childhood. Eventually, Dagney assumed a permanent spot in our bed. However, I thought she would sleep beside me which she did not.

Randy thought it funny that she started to sleep between his legs at the bottom of the bed. I did not and still do not see the humor. I wanted my cuddle buddy beside me. I would love her, smother her with kisses and rub her tummy but the minute I stopped, she assumed her position on Randy’s side of the bed.

He tried to convince me that she loved him more than me. I dismissed her behaviors as a response to my restless leg syndrome. I don’t know if I have restless leg syndrome, but it sounds like a better reason for her sleeping preference.

The reality never dawned on us until we changed sides of the bed. We bought a motorhome with a cumbersome step on the right side. Because the left side was closer to the bathroom which I access often and nearer to the outside exit that I use when Dagney needs to go out at night, I started sleeping on the left. Guess what? Dagney burrowed into the blankets at my feet and stayed the night confirming, she is a lefty.

If you dog is a lefty, you will be pleased to know, she is in good company. According to an article by Danny Jensen, many talented humans are left-handed.

  • U.S. Presidents: Bill Clinton, Barack Obama, George H.W. Bush, and Gerald Ford are the most recent.
  • Celebrities: Jennifer Lawrence, Tome Cruise, Angelina Jolie, Robert De Niro, and Morgan Freeman
  • Guitar Legends: Paul McCartney, Jimi Hendrix, and Kurt Cobain
  • Innovators and thinkers: Aristotle, Leonardo Da Vinci, Albert Einstein, Marie Curie, Bill Gates, and Oprah Winfrey.

What I once thought might be a disadvantage or at least an inconvenience, I now see as a source of pride. In fact, based upon history, Dagney may possess the ability to be great in the future. She is still young so for now we wait, watch and wonder. In what role will she become legendary? Will we become the rich and famous parents of a prominent contributor to the world? If not, we will still love our baby girl and cuddly buddy.

______________________________

Dagney is a bit of an attention hog. You can fulfill her needs by reading more stories where she is the main character.

My retirement hobby is to write stories that make readers laugh and appreciate the love of their furfriends.

Subscribe

dog
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.