Petlife logo

Creativity & Dogs

the pros and cons of owning a dog, for someone who is a creative being

By Katie DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Creativity & Dogs
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

I've never wanted to own a dog. I didn't grow up with dogs in the house. The only interaction I ever had with them is when I'd go over to friends' houses, and they'd jump on me and try to lick my face ... I hated it.

I've been a partial dog owner for 6 weeks now; my boyfriend and I took in his brother's dog after he and his family couldn't take him to their new place. My boyfriend and I specifically found a pet-friendly apartment just to take in this one dog -- Panda -- because my boyfriend loves him so much. I knew very early on in our relationship that I would need to get used to dogs -- this is a deal-breaker (and my boyfriend has been very patient with me, accommodating to my needs as best as he can ... like making sure Panda stays on his side of the bed at night instead of mine).

I have to say, Panda is so much more relaxed and low-maintenance than I was expecting. There is still too much barking, which is something I'm struggling with ... but it's almost always only when we go outside. When my boyfriend's at work from 8am-6pm, I barely remember Panda's here, that's how typically quiet he is! (Unless someone in the building dares to walk by our apartment ...)

My boyfriend's instructions for me have been super simple: take Panda out every two to three hours. Well, this morning, it was four ... and some days, it's been six. I am a creative being -- I love writing, I love designing, I love projects! When I'm in the zone, I am IN the zone. I could go ten hours straight, only getting up for food, water, and bathroom breaks ... and being very quick, because, as I said, I'm in the ZONE! So, having to get up every two to three hours (ahem, four to six hours) is a new concept for me. And this is what sparked the article idea: the pros and cons of owning a dog as a creative.

As I took Panda out this morning, I started to think of some other cons, but also pros. For example, yes I like having my flow uninterrupted ... but I've also found I've had some of my best ideas while taking Panda for a walk. I don't know if it's the fresh air, or the new environment, or just stepping away from my project for a moment -- or a combination of the three -- but something about going for that mini walk gets my brain going in a new way (and I love it!).

I suppose dogs could also be used as inspiration for stories -- for example, I could tell you about the other day (a day when the dog was stressing me out) when I told my boyfriend I preferred the sneezing panda over our Panda. I was referring to that really popular video from years ago, if you know what I'm talking about, where the panda bear sneezes and startles the other panda bear -- so cute! You know what his response was? "Our Panda sneezes all the time!" ... and honestly, he's not wrong. I had to laugh, it was the perfect response.

Over time, I could probably compile a wide range of Panda stories into one article post -- the Adventures of Panda Dog! (... it's a working title.)

So, my pros and cons for owning a dog as a creative?

CONS

* Taking the dog outside means interrupting the creative flow

* Barking is a distraction, and can also interrupt the creative flow

PROS

* It's important to take a moment away from creativity, to gain new perspective -- taking the dog out forces us into those beautiful moments

* Dogs can be a great source of inspiration, for almost any creative outlet (for writing, it's stories ... for baking, it could be coming up with doggy treat recipes ... for knitting, perhaps making a doggy sweater for the winter)

Now, the question you may have, as a creative, if you don't already own one: Should YOU get a dog? Well, that is a completely personal choice. I admitted to never wanting a dog, not wanting the responsibility that came with owning one ... BUT, in the short experience I've had, I'm almost at a point where I'm excited by the prospect of one day picking out my own dog -- getting to name it, training it and bonding with it from the beginning, picking out a leash and collar ...

Huh ... I guess dog-owning could be a creative outlet all on it's own!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Katie Dawn

I am a young woman from Canada

I am an Aquarius sun, Taurus moon, Capricorn rising

I am a reader, writer, lover of words

I am a multi-passionate individual

I am studying to become a Life and Creativity Coach

I am an open book

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.