Petlife logo

Coping with Grief After Losing a Dog

The Story of Adopting and Loving My Furry Companion for 5 Years, and Coping Strategies for Healing from Pet Loss

By Saba MalikPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Coping with Grief After Losing a Dog
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

I remember the day I adopted her like it was yesterday. I went to the shelter looking for a small dog to keep me company, and there she was - a scrappy little mutt with a crooked tail and a huge personality. As soon as I saw her, I knew she was the one. And when I picked her up, she licked my face and snuggled into my arms like she'd been waiting for me her whole life.

From that moment on, Doozy was my constant companion. She went everywhere with me - to the park, on road trips, and even to work sometimes. She made friends with everyone she met, and her goofy grin and wagging tail could brighten even the darkest days.

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

I still remember when we went on a camping trip together. We spent days hiking and swimming in the river, and at night we cuddled up in the tent together. I remember waking up to her warm body next to mine and feeling so grateful for her companionship.

She was more than just a pet. She was my best friend and confidante. Whenever I was feeling down, she would curl up next to me and offer her unconditional love and support.

But then, one day, she got sick. It started with a cough that wouldn't go away, and before I knew it, she was in and out of the vet's office. We tried everything we could to help her, but eventually, we had to make the heart-wrenching decision to let her go.

Losing Doozy was one of the hardest things I've ever gone through. In the days and weeks following her death, I found myself struggling with a range of emotions. I felt a deep sense of sadness, as well as guilt and regret for not being able to save her. I also felt a sense of emptiness without her by my side.

First and foremost, I allowed myself to feel my feelings. I cried, I screamed, and I let myself be angry, sad and lost. I talked to friends and family, and I sought out support groups for pet owners who had gone through similar experiences.

One thing that helped me a lot was creating a memorial for Doozy. I gathered up all of her toys, her leash, and her favorite blanket, and I made a little shrine in my living room. I even got a custom portrait of her to hang on the wall. It might sound silly, but having a physical reminder of her helped me feel like she was still with me in some small way.

By Oscar Sutton on Unsplash

As for what to do with her body, I chose to have her cremated. It wasn't an easy decision, but I knew I wanted to keep her with me forever. I got a beautiful urn for her ashes, and now she sits on my bookshelf, watching over me just like she always did.

It's been almost a year now, and while I still miss her every day, I know that Doozy will always be a part of me. She taught me so much about love, loyalty, and resilience, and I will never forget her. To anyone out there who has lost a beloved pet, please know that you are not alone. It's okay to grieve, and it's okay to take all the time you need to heal. And above all, remember that the love you shared with your pet will never truly die - it lives on in your heart forever.

how todogadoption
Like

About the Creator

Saba Malik

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.