Petlife logo

Can you spot this? (Creepy!)

If you see it, you might shit bricks!(Throwback quote)

By Kassy Mannoua AmoiPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
Here it is!

It was about seven-thirty at night in my little apartment/dorm room on a Friday night. I didn't have much to do after a long day at work except look forward to a well rested weekend. I decided to resume my binge of American Horror story into the "My Roanoke Nightmare" season. My dog Chester was driving my girlfriend up the wall that week and she had dropped him off at four, immediately after I sent out my text that I had gotten off work and the few hours that followed were arduous to say the least.

I gave a begrudging Chester a walk, some chicken bones that I stripped for him to add to my ramen and hastily showered to quickly rush back to my apartment/dorm so as to not give Chester the opportunity to bark and alert my neighbors/dormmates to my breach of the lease agreement: No pets.

So there I was with my illegal chihuahua in my apartment/dorm watching no doubt in my honest opinion one of the most frightening seasons of American Horror Story with no commercial breaks courtesy of Netflix. I had my bowl of ramen noodle soup laced with chicken in front of me and I was devouring the whole story. Somewhere in the midst of a jump scare in front of a moving vehicle I was feeling bit nervous. Something about horror scenarios with no way out nor any chance of retribution for the shitty decision the main character makes genuinely scare me. For one, any situation that suspiciously leads to my demise should always have any exit plan. For instance, Chester and I are taking a walk in the woods and he goes off the path chasing after some cat and wanders into a random abandoned church and surprise it's getting dark.....Well, it was nice to know Chester. Or if Chester and I are walking home and we are about a good five minutes away from my house but Chester stops right in his tracks, begins to whine and starts walking the other way.....You bet your ass I'm not arguing with that. We will take the scenic route, no questions asked. I am who I am and since I don't travel with holy water in my back pocket I won't fight with the supernatural. Chester must have sensed the creeping fear in my body loom and tucked himself away underneath my bed when I turned on the light in my room as shown in the picture. I remember getting up after a jump scare and hurriedly turning on the second fan light and not seeing Chester anywhere on my bed. About twenty-six more or so jump scares and bodies being found I had gotten nervous and let fear grip my stomach in that nice ice vice clinch and yanked real far down to my bottom so it was time to get my chihuahua out to cuddle with me. I call out for Chester once, he doesn't answer. I call out for him, twice and still nothing. I call out a third time and I hear the familiar rustle of him shuffling out from beneath my bed but I don't look to his direction on my left because my eyes are just glued to the television, I was too anxious to miss a single detail unfolding before me. A door slams from below me in tandem with the television as if it had conjured a ghost to visit my building. I pause with bated breath when I hear the creaks and groans of the stairs behind me just outside of my door. My brain starts rationalizing quickly, it just my neighbor/dormmate coming home. I quietly panic and wildly shake my head as I hear Sarah Paulson run wildly into the dark trees, moaning. "CHESTER, COME HERE DAMNIT! I NEED YOU!". Needless to say, I survived the episode. As the screen cuts to the end credits I wildly look to my right and left looking around for Chester on the floor, probably cowered after hearing me shout. He was no where around on my right nor beneath me so I turn my head quickly to my left night-light side of my apartment. I look around and I see no trace of him anywhere, I nervously cut the continuous play function in the end credits. I start recounting my steps from the time a rushed from the bathroom. I know I left the door unlocked but closed to use the communal bathroom down the hall from my apartment. I felt my heart clench tighter with every beat when I realized that Chester never left this room.

I sigh and let my eyes drift over to my bookcase and right below the center shelf sat Chester staring at me with the most bewildered expression on his face after having witnessed my fear induced call to him, my confused search of my memory of him and my finally settling on him. Needless to say I had a right laugh at his entire facial expression that confused him even further, giving me enough time to scramble for my phone, take a picture and turn it into a family game of where's Waldo with Chester. My shot was well received in the family group chat ending with the consensus comment from my cousin Chase "He got that creeper energy". I agree, finding him is indeed creepy and I thought this would be fitting for this challenge premise honestly. So if you need any assistance finding Chester, you'll find him under my copy of Homer's Odyssey. Happy Halloween!

happy Halloween!

dog
2

About the Creator

Kassy Mannoua Amoi

I am an actor, writer and artist dedicated to the creation of happiness so boundless that it shatters all obstacles in the way of unity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.