Petlife logo

Bella

My Love - my Passion

By Dagmar GoeschickPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
my Bella

My dog Bella is a Huskita, which means she is a Husky-Akita-Inu-Mix.

Wonderful fur. Wonderful colors. White, black, grey and a little bit silver. Her eyes are shining in a beautiful brown color straight out of her face.

I got her from the SPCA. She was a rescued dog with no background information. The poor girl was handed over from one rescue organization to the other one. No one was able to handle her. So, after over 6 months in rescue stations, she finally got adopted. Or let's say, she adopted me. I was on the hunt for a small dog, and this time I wanted a female, not so big, more mid-size, already house trained, and not aggressive. When I was searching through the internet I came across Bella.

The way she looked into the camera made me feel attracted to her. I send in my application, scheduled an appointment and after a few days of waiting I was on my way to see her first time. Honestly, I was a little bit nervous but also very much excited. How would she react to me? Would she run away or would she come to sit next to me? A lot of questions were running through my brain and I was hoping for the best. For both of us.

When I reached the facility where I should meet her first time, my blood pressure was already going up. To get a new dog is like giving birth to a baby. I went into the reception area where a lady was already waiting for me. She was asking me a few more questions and then she walked me into a greeting room. She left me alone for a few minutes and returned with Bella.

There she was. Small, anxious, and nervous like me. She looked up to her guardian, not knowing what to do. The lady left the room and we were alone. Bella ran to the door, but it was locked. She turned around, facing me with her wonderful brown big eyes. Her tail between her legs she started to come closer to me. I was just sitting there and watching what she was up to. I didn't want to make her more scared than she already was.

There she was. Right next to me. Sniffing my hand, my hand inside, my leg, and my shoes. I think she liked my shoes at that moment the most. Suddenly she jumped onto my lap. It was so fast I had problems grabbing her so that she wouldn't fall down. Because of my reaction, she tried to back up, but my arms, wrapping around her, changed her mood. She suddenly felt secure, at home, loved, all in one. Her body relaxed as she lay down on my knees, licking my hand and pushing her nose into my jacket. I started to laugh and that was the first time she heard my voice. At this time, we all didn't know that she was badly abused by men. She looked me in the eyes and I knew I had to take her with me.

I signed the papers and off we were. She hopped in the car, sat straight up and I started to drive home. She wasn't really happy with sitting in the car because she got car sick, so we had to stop twice for a short walk together, but we made it without any accidents to our house.

I had to drag her up the stairs and into the house. Because I was with her she felt safe until the moment she saw my husband. She stopped abruptly and started to growl very badly. She didn't show her teeth but she was right under stress. I walked towards my husband, hugged him and kissed him, and introduced him to her. Bella was watching me, ready to save my life. But nothing bad happened to me. My husband turned around to her and smiled at her but he didn't try to approach her. Then my son stormed into the house. That was a scary moment for all of us because she turned around, faced my son, and tried to go after him. For her, he was an intruder. I quickly walked around her and did the same to my son: hugging, kissing, and making fun. Bella looked a little bit puzzled but she knew, I was not in danger.

The first night with her was a little bit difficult, but we managed.

The next morning during breakfast she sat right next to my husband. Looking into his eyes and giving him a kiss. Then she turned to me. Putting her paws on my lap than she put her head against mine and said very quietly: "Thanks for giving me a home". No one heard her voice, but it was in my head, and her eyes shone like stars from a distant galaxy.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.