Petlife logo

Another Life

reincarnation

By ash & milPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Another Life
Photo by Humberto Arellano on Unsplash

Freshman year at my new school, my mother woke me up. I was terrified since she never wakes me up for school, I use my phone as an alarm.

As my mom was hovering over me, I blurted out, "Am I in trouble?"

With a deep sigh, she dreadfully whispered, "Snowy isn't doing well, say your goodbyes and go to school."

I sprinted downstairs stumbling over myself to interrogate what had occurred. I launched open the door to the room where she sleeps.

There she was on the floor, frail and weak. She was covered in dirt and couldn't stand. Her arthritis got the best of her. Something we related to, growing up I had also been diagnosed with arthritis. I was one year older, we were both 14. We grew up together.

I laid on the ice cold floor to comfort her.

Soon enough my mother felt guilty and allowed me to skip school, even though tomorrow was Halloween.

We had arrived at hell, there we walked her in and soon enough she collapsed. The vets, nurses, etc. had gotten a stretcher to lay her on. Struggling to pick her up, her back legs had no strength anymore. Her yelps for help had filled the entire vet facility.

I begin hyperventilating where I couldn't control it. People were fighting to look away from my struggling cries and breath.

They allowed my mother and I to go into a private room where they later rolled her in, they had already taken her blood and put the vile in her paw. It was time to say goodbye to my best friend.

The day I was never prepared for, the day I feared most. I had put my hands under her face, and rested my forehead towards hers. We did this every night, it was our routine. I took a breath and left the room. I never saw her again, or so I thought...

On my 18th birthday, my boyfriend and I went to Petco where I found Snowy again, not actually but like maybe?

I walk past the cat kettles where one shoves his paw through and catches on my shirt. I turn towards the kitten and he immediately rolls onto his back and is ready to be loved.

This babies parents had been killed be an untrained dog, leaving him and his five brothers behind. Once they had been found, they instantly went into an adoption program.

I needed him. I had this intense feeling about him, since he's a black cat, no one had adopted him since he's "bad luck" yet he's my ride or die. He required a new, safe home. Which I gladly provided.

I am extremely into paranormal investigations and anything of that sort. Just yesterday I was using a talking device, I was talking and asking questions. I instantly would get a quick reply.

Mochi, my cat had opened my door and strolled in. "Who is that?" stated the talking device. Then I explained who my cat is to the device.

Right after it quickly spit out the words, "Guide" and "Old". This made me question if my cat was my guide. Was a small cat Mochi, my old dog Snowy? Was Snowy my guid reincarnated into my current cat?

I was later playing with my cat and he began rubbing on me. From the top of the scratching post he looked down at me. I began rubbing under his chin since that's his favorite.

I held his small fuzzy face in my warm hands. That's when he leaned down towards my forehead and we sat there forehead to forehead...

Only Snowy has ever done that.

adoption
1

About the Creator

ash & mil

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.