Petlife logo

ALL MY KITTENS

A WITTY SERIAL FOR THE INTERNET

By Billy EhrlacherPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Written and Created By Billy Ehrlacher

Tawny and Wilburn arrive at The Hidden Valley International Airport. When they reach the airport they both begin to cough like crazy. They do not understand why they are feeling this way.

Over at Garson Industries corporate headquarters, Sable picks up the telephone in her office.

"Hello there," Sable says as she admires her recently redecorated office. The identity of the person on the other line is unknown, but it is obvious that Sable means business.

"Hello, I want you to acquire The Hidden Valley Times. I've heard through the grapevine that the rag is on the market. I want to acquire the paper and I want to do it now. I don't care about the cost. Money is no option.. And one other thing, when the paper is all mine, I want you to make an immediate change. The first thing I want done is to flip that God awful gossip column.

When Sable finishes her call her office phone rings again. This time it is her son Alec. Alec sounds elated.

"Mother," Alec says. "I am calling you with excellent news."

"Let me guess," Sable says. "The hospital is naming the morgue in your honor because you have lost more patients than any other doctor in the history of the hospital."

"No Mother, that isn't it. Try again."

"Listen, Alec, I do not have time to play guessing games with you. I am a very busy lady."

"Fine, Dad has been found, and he is back in Hidden Valley."

Sable has no words. She begins to sob These are certainly not tears of joy.

Raul walks into Sable's office and notices that she has been crying. He decides to confront her to determine what has been bothering her.

Sable what is wrong with you?"

"I just got some unsettling news. Your brother Wilburn is alive and well and he is back in Hidden Valley."

Over at the Garson mansion, Wilburn and Tawny try to get into the guest house which is where he has been living since Sable threw him out of the main house. For some reason the door won't open. Tawny puts two and two together and realizes that Sable had the locks changed. Wilburn is anxious to get to the office, so he and Tawny go there next. Wilburn attempts to use his key to open the office door and yet again the door won't open. Sable is sitting in the office, and she can hear him struggling to enter. She simply ignores the sound.

"Sable I know that you are in there. Let me in," Wilburn yells as he bangs on the door.

Sable finally walks over to the door. And opens it a bit.

"How did you two get past security?" Sable demands to know. " My next task will be to replace all of them."

"Sable let me in," Wilburn screams.

"Sable notices that Tawny is with Wilburn.

"Tawny? Isn't it past your bedtime? Isn't tomorrow a school day?" Sable taunts.

"Oh shut the hell up, Sable," Wilburn snaps.

"So tell me Wilburn. Do you like the way I had my office redecorated. I really appreciate your opinion. You never had an eye for decorating . You always had a taste for garbage. Which is probably why you are dating this tramp."

Tawny has had enough of Sable's taunts. And she grabs Sable and the two felines begin to wrestle as Wilburn attempts to break the two felines apart. The two ladies calm down and he holds Tawny back.

"That is no way to treat me, especially when I have a surprise and a gift for you Tawny."

Tawny perks up when she hears the word gift.

"I hope that you'll like it. I didn't have a chance to wrap it," Sable confesses as she hands Tawny the classified section of the newspaper. The job opportunities part.

Tawny doesn't understand.

"Oh, Tawny dear. I guess that you didn't get the memo. You see I just bought The Hidden Valley Times. And I determined that we must take the newspaper in a new direction. I want more hard news and less garbage so I decided to do away with your column effective immediately. It is nothing personal, it's just business. Hey if you need a letter of recommendation or anything please contact me. I have highlighted the jobs that I feel would be perfect for you. For example, the local Shop For Food Grocery Store is hiring someone to collect the shopping carts from the parking lot. I think that you can handle a job like that. I realize that you wouldn't want anything too taxing for your brain," Sable taunts as she turns towards Wilburn.

"Wilburn do you like the name plate on my desk? I held an emergency meeting and I had you ousted . Garson Industries deserved better. Your senility has been running this company into the ground. At the meeting I circulated this retirement card we all signed it. Happy retirement dear."

"Sable, you won't get away with this."

"Oh yes I will darling. I'm already getting away with it. Well visiting hours are over."

Wilburn and Tawny storm out of the office.

Sable returns to her desk this is only the beginning of her revenge on the dynamic duo.

satire
Like

About the Creator

Billy Ehrlacher

Billy obtained a bachelor's degree in theatre from DeSales University. He has many theatre credits. His first humor novel was published in 2017. He is an avid soap opera fan and an animal lover. Billy lives in Allentown, PA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.