Petlife logo

Accidental Adoption

“I thought you were getting a kitten?”

By Danielle HeinPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3
Max & Izzy: A boy and his dog.

It was mid-October in Michigan, and I was visiting my family from South Carolina. I hadn’t been home in awhile, and my youngest brother, Max’s, 13th birthday was coming up. My mom and I were sitting in the living room, with a glass of wine, trying to come up with a fun surprise for a 13 year old boy.

Captain, my family’s loveable goober of a Great Dane/Black Lab mix, was laying on the couch with his big eyes staring up at us, while Oliver, the little street rescue kitten jumped up on the back of the couch, pawing at the lazy beast to get Captain’s attention. He was too comfortable to care, but Oliver wouldn’t give up. We started laughing hysterically at this little game, that no one was winning.

Captain & Oliver, letting us know there’s room for one more.

And then, it hit us! Max had rescued Oliver a few years prior, but for some reason this persnickety kitten had latched on to our mom, and quickly became hers. We decided to take Max to the local animal shelter to pick out a kitten of his own. It was brilliant! They already had all the necessary accoutrement, and Oliver was clearly in need of a friend.

A few days later, on October 14th, we told Max we had a surprise trip planned, and we all piled into the car, along with my sister, Hannah.

When we arrived at the shelter Max started freaking out with excitement over the prospect of another pet. My mom explained that he could pick out a kitten of his own, since Oliver had inadvertently become her cat.

Max, Hannah, and my mom went straight to the kitten room in the shelter. Being a massive dog lover, I decided to go give some snuggles to the shelter pups, while Max picked out his kitten.

Within minutes I locked eyes on the sweetest pittie pup, who looked a lot like my dog, Evelyn, back at home in South Carolina. I was missing her desperately, so I brought her fur baby doppelgänger, Izzy, out of the kennel and into the playroom for some snuggles.

I mean...that face.

She went absolutely bonkers when she realized what was happening. Her tail was wagging a mile a minute, and she was doing a little happy dance of twists, turns, and jumps. She started licking my face, and then put her two front paws on my shoulder and hugged me. Like, a full-on bear hug. A “don’t ever leave me, I will always love you, please take me home” kind of hug. You know the kind.

Famous Izzy snuggles.

Shortly into our playroom visit a shelter volunteer came into the room to see how we were doing. I was almost in tears from the affection that this sweet 50lbs of muscle and love was obviously craving. I told her that I was just waiting for my family, and thought I’d give the pups some love, while they picked out a kitten.

“Whoever rescues this girl is going to be one lucky family. She is just so sweet!” I told the volunteer, while this adorable dog continued to hang on me.

“Oh, I hope it works out this next time. She’s been adopted 3 times, and returned 3 times. Unfortunately, if she’s not adopted soon...” she replied.

I cut her off immediately, “NO! Why would they return her, she’s just so sweet and loving.”

The volunteer explained that she had been returned due to her being too hyper, and hard to train.

I started sobbing. Maybe a bit dramatic, but I’m a dog lover, and I have an extra special place in my heart for pitties. I couldn’t bare the thought of this special and snuggly girl not finding her forever home. I was certain she just hadn’t been given a proper chance to adjust to a new setting, before being sent off to another one.

How can you say “no” to that face?!

I started plotting in my head how I could get her home. I was supposed to be flying in a few days, but I could rent a car and drive the 16 hours with a new pup. No problem. I wasn’t sure how my husband or Evelyn would react, but I’m sure they’d be thrilled! I kept on hugging the affectionate and scared little girl, and promising her that I would make sure she got her forever family. The whole time, sitting on the ground, her snuggling as close as she could, and crying.

Pretty soon I see my family watching me from the window to the room. Max walks in, and asks if I’m ok. I shake my head, with a pretty strong pouty lip, and explain the situation. He didn’t say anything, just made a sympathetic coo and left to go back to my mom.

Max meets Izzy.

Within seconds my mom, Hannah, and Max all join me in the room to meet the pup who has stolen my heart.

“I would love to have my own dog,” Max kind of mumbles in mom’s direction.

My mom just stares at me. I know what she’s thinking. We were supposed to be getting a low maintenance kitten. Not a rambunctious, needy, and anxious dog.

Pretty soon all three of us started pleading with her.

“I’ll help with everything!” Hannah chimed in.

“You really won’t need to do anything, Mom!” Max exclaimed.

“If it doesn’t work, I’ll rent a car and drive her home with me!” I begged, giving away my not-so-well-thought out plan.

Mom hesitated for a second, “We’ll have to call your dad first.”

We all shrieked in excitement. Dad loves dogs, he could never say no.

A very important photo of my dad.

Max quickly dials dads number, as we realize the shelter is closing soon. He goes into a tailspin trying to explain the situation, barely able to catch his breath. We all waited anxiously, not making a peep, ready for a response on the other end.

“I thought you were getting a cat,” dad finally replied. We all started laughing nervously. “Ok, I’ll be there in ten minutes with a collar and leash.”

The shelter had named her India, but it didn’t seem to fit. When we got her home, she just scrambled from person to person for snuggles, scratches, and attention.

We all sat around, playing with the new pup, trying to think of a new name that started with the same sound, when Mom said she was making her dizzy with all the running around. It kind of hit us all at once- IZZY! She was definitely an Izzy.

Best friends

Izzy forced herself into our hearts, and is still the most cuddly and loveable dog there ever was. She fell in love with Captain, and we joke that they are an old married couple now. She messed with Oliver, and he messed right back. She was the perfect addition to the craziness of my family home, and I love being able to visit and snuggle my accidental rescue every chance I can.

adoption
3

About the Creator

Danielle Hein

I am a quirky, passionate, and fun-loving small business owner & creator. I am an avid animal lover, and mama of two perfect pitties. I love to travel and explore new cultures, and was even married in Italy to my wonderful husband.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.