Petlife logo

A Tale of Two Cats

Lilo and Willow

By Mitchell BoothPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Willow and Lilo Sisters

One night around 10pm in July I was traveling home from Malanda, I go up every week to perform in a large band you see. On my return home I turned on my car's heater, being July in Australia, it gets very cold up in the hills. Upon my descent down the range like road I noticed a large cardboard box on the side of the road, being a respectable person towards nature I dislike litter and decided to pull over and pick it up. Upon stopping and getting out of my car I could hear the faint meowing of kittens, sadly to my horror when opening the abandoned box, I discovered a litter of kittens, 7 in total. They were frozen solid and shaking, a few were asleep and I feared the worst. I picked up the box and put it on my front seat, blasting the heater onto them. The whole drive home I checked on them, making sure that they were ok and getting enough heat.

When I got home, I immediately heated up the heating bags and placed the kittens onto them. I made a makeshift bed using an old box and a few pillows, then placed it in front of the heater. I checked them all for ticks and fleas, living on a farm you pick up a few things about the fist aid of animals. A few had ticks but I removed them safely. After all that I provided some heated milk for them and waited for them to drink, making sure that they were drinking properly. After a few days the litter were doing great, they played a lot and ate a lot! which is a great sign of recovery, however a few had a small cough from the cold but other than that they were healthy! There were two that really shined, Lilo and Willow, they loved to cuddle together and were never seen apart, it was so cute. They also took a massive liking towards me, and when the day came that I had to give the litter away, I couldn't part with those two. So, I kept them. Ever since that they have provided me with so much love and affection. I've never seen this in cats so it was a beautiful experience and I love them so much, they were like daughters to me.

I lost my home in a fire back in 2020 and both of my cats were injured in the flames badly. Lilo nearly passed and it was the most horrible feeling ever, almost as if I was about to lose my child, cried so much that month. But now today they have recovered and are thriving in life. The love and bond we share is truly a blessing, even though I lost everything in the flames I think none of that matters in comparison to the fact I still have my beautiful girls. The love that they provide is gorgeous and I couldn't imagine a life without it. The only thing that matters is that Lilo and Willow are safe and together with me. They always comfort me when I’m sad and bring me so much joy when they play and I love that about them. As a farmer I can say, no other animal that I have met is so loving and so thankful then these to gems. They somehow know you saved them and they cherish you for that. It’s like fate being brought together like the way we were. I think it's safe to say once again that if my kitties were not with me today my life wouldn't be so joyous and fun. They are like my children and I love them so dearly.

Rescue animals are more blessed than a store bought, the bond you feel is more powerful, because you saved their life and they know that! I'm not saying store bought aren't just as loving but there's something about the connection between you and a rescue pet. A connection that will be there even upon their passing. They imprint a light in your heart and soul that seems to fill you with joy. When your sad after a nasty day at work or you wake up with a bad face full of pimples your pets always love you for you and comforts you, the view they have of you doesn't change because of vanity or negative energy and that's magical! So that's the story about my kittens Lilo and Willow. I'm so thankful for being the companion of these two beautiful girls! It's a dream.

cat

About the Creator

Mitchell Booth

Fantasy and Sci-Fi Writer trying to achieve my dream as an author.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mitchell BoothWritten by Mitchell Booth

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.