Petlife logo

A Stroke of Luck

How Hallow was rescued

By Christen TrunkeyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Most people say that black cats will bring you bad luck, but this guy fell upon his own bad luck and we happened to be in the right place at the right time to change his fate and gain a wonderful addition to our family. He crossed our path unintentionally while visiting my parents. My older two daughters had gone outside to go for a walk and came back inside screaming for help. "Mom! Mom! we have to help him!"

Terrified out of my wits I sprang to my feet as the urgent shrills proved that asking questions would lose time. I rushed out to see a tom cat flipping something in the air to which my adrenaline halted as I slowed my pace and exclaimed, "That's just a cat killing a rat! It's nature..." But as I was speaking they both ejaculated, "It's a kitten!" Sure enough my gaze met the eyes of a small black kitten as it flew in the air, mewing helplessly and beyond hope.

Tom cats are known to be territorial and kill other male kittens. This was stuck somewhere in the back of my mind. So I knew in my heart we had to help this little guy. Without time to plan I charged at the cat and ordered my girls to chase it and keep it away. If the kitten was damaged or dead I wanted to spare them.

Rapidly approaching the cat it bolted and the girls continued the chase. The kitten landed sprawled out, finding it's strength as it landed and darted under a trailer. Now I was to search for him before the cat or another could get to him. Unfortunately, the tom cat wasn't afraid of my girls and was evading them to finish his hunt. We both were searching for the little one and I had to be the first.

I ordered the girls to grab any kind of food, lunch meat or something, to distract the cat. Quick as lightning they returned with bologna and tossed pieces to distract the cat. I sat at the opening of the trailer the kitten had sought refuge in. I sat absolutely still and lay a piece of bologna to entice the little one. After some time, he cautiously appeared. I grabbed him, hugged him to my chest and we brought him inside. His mews were so pathetic and sweet. We fixed him a box with a blanket to let him calm down and give him space. Now I had to decide what to do with this little one.

The chill of September reminded me that shelters would be full of black cats and that people often harm black cats in October. I resolved to keep him, temporarily, until November. In the meantime we had to call him something. My second oldest decided on Hallow, short for Halloween. As it was around the corner and he had gotten the scare of his life. Not to mention he was such a little treat!

This all happened about four years ago and Hallow's favorite place to sleep is the foot of my bed. He is unusual for a cat, comes when called and enjoys a belly rub. The story gets better though. Our other cat, Marble was rescued emotionally from Hallow. She had kittens by accident the year prior and upon the appropriate age, we re-homed them. People say that a cat will forget, but Marble cried and carried around small stuffed animals months afterward. When we brought Hallow home, she had a new purpose!

He is intuitive to feelings and any sickness or sadness and he is in your lap, viciously rubbing his head on you and purring. We may have saved his life that fateful day, but the joy and love he has returned one thousand fold.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Christen Trunkey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.