Petlife logo

A stray to hold back

Animals are so cute and adorable. Your most trusted person may leave you behind but the pet you nurture, will always stand by till the last breath.

By Fariha Kabir OrchiPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
A stray to hold  back
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I always thought of keeping a pet myself but never tried because if madame (Omma)found out, we both would have ended up in the streets. AHaHaaa~

Still there I remember a black furred doggo I encountered, quite unexpectedly. Hmmm, it was sooo Kawaii that melted my stupid mind eventually must say.

To start from the beginning, well, I wouldn't say it was great, ….it sort of started like an unplanned coincidence.

Let me start with the Solitude life I had, me and my boring loneliness. Just the two of us having a shitty blast. A typical life- wake up, go for a jog, see the same people, be back, get ready for work, then be back again, study, eat, sleep and open up my eyes exactly to the very same timing and repeat. “Uh~ what a tiring day.”....every day I thought. Unlike other weekends when I went out to the park again, guess it was a bit too early.AS always I was running steadily for almost an hour, I guess. Felt kinda cringy as soon as I heard someone BARK! BARK! Bleeding hells! My heart kept on pounding, I didn’t even look back an instance and kept running like a damn. Goodness gracious my home was situated nearby and I ran into my bed directly. Che sullievo ! This was a ton!

I then looked out from the window and noticed a black hound. Aegyo! It looked quite ferocious so I did not even think of getting out of the house that day. ON TOP OF THAT! I had had an outstanding bad experience with dogs. Anyways, that day went by , though quite slower than usual, I couldn’t even meet my friends because of that. The next day I definitely did not dare to go for a jog. I straight went to the café where I work, then college, then library and then home sweet home. I thoroughly checked if that thing was still there, glad it wasn't .It had been two weeks since I last saw the hound until that night when I had to change my perception towards dogs. I was returning home from a get together. We had lots of drinks , foods , so basically in zero consciousness. I was just waddling along the path and nearly to my home. I was limp while it was getting darker. A huge person just grabbed me from behind, I couldn't shout or anything . I was just squeezing and beginning to be out of breath. All of a sudden I just heard ,”Bark, Bark!” . OMO! That hound!?! It was running and shouting, and the man behind me startled.he let off me. The dog was chasing him, as it also attracted some people. Thanks to it, I got saved that night and went home safely. I swore I was never gonna drink like that again. The very next day I woke up to the sound of a groan. Damn man! The hound was outside my house!! How the hell do I get out?!! It was quite selfish of me not to think of the reason behind it at first . However , I mustered up some courage and opened the door. My Gosh! The hound was hurt so badly. I literally had no idea about what to do yet, so I changed into my clothes and took it to a vet as soon as i could. The hound was hit by the robber last night. That bastard! How could he make it bleed like hell? Guess it was not that late. What a relief! I at least, paid back its favour. And then…….. The million dollar conversation arose.

“ Here is your dog. He is fine now, just apply the ointments to the scar timely and I will prescribe these meds so that no infection spreads.Change the bandage two times a day.he might groan for a few days more. but Don't worry he will be running in no time ,” the vet said.

I was like, whoa! It is not my dog . I just happened to affront it. Still don't know why I could not.

“ Okay , I will. Do I have to bring it here again?”

“ I don't think so. But if anything happens, I am always available. “By the way, how did he got hurt that bad?” the vet suddenly asked . so I told him the full story.

“ wow!you have got such a nice dog. (turning to the dog) you will be playing with your owner pretty soon.”

I was smiling,”I am sure he will.Thank you.” I just took it to my house, bought the medicines and all.

The hound seemed to be quite happy but I was getting scared of it again. I thought it was gonna bite me. But it was just continuously moving its tail.

SHIT! I was late for work that day. I hurriedly rushed , gave it some food, locked my door and went to my regular place. I came back in the evening though and to my jaw dropping surprise , the hound simply didn't not touch its food at all.

Ahh~~ i didn't know what it was. Whatever , I changed its bandage, put on ointment and provided dog food again. It was not eating at all , instead, kept on waving its tail as if it was grateful to me whereas I should have been grateful.

It was getting annoying.

“Come on now. Eat here .” The hound was more well mannered than I was. I told it to eat then it came to eat and also , it was so neat and clean. I gave it some medicine and went to my business. It was nearly midnight and that hound was still awake with me. However , I went to bed and got lost in my dreams. Something just woke me up after a while. Opening my eyes, gosh! a pair of ghostly eyes staring at me. I was gonna scream but somehow lit the flashlight. Oh! It was the hound. “ Why aren't you sleeping?” it just kept on staring at me. I just wondered why it kept on smiling like that. “ You were chewing my shoes dammit! Put that down. Please put that down.”

Oh my shoes. I had to leave my bed and clean the mess. Rough day, rough night. These bizarre interactions continued for weeks . The dog also recovered. Well, i wouldn't want to disclose what happened between us, but we got along a lot better. He(the dog) wouldn't do anything without my permission(except chewing my shoes. What the hell is this relation between dogs and shoes ,man?). He was very-well trained.

Also I got him a name. HOPPS. We used to jog together, had meals. Finally, I had someone to spend my time with. Alas! I didn't know this slight happiness would last that short.

Right after 5 months his actual owner came to my house in search of him. We were running in the park when suddenly Hopps ran towards an aged man , barking. The old man was his owner.

“ Jim, oye Jim , I am so sorry I lost you. “ the old man was blabbering.

“ excuse me , sir ?”

“ Hello young lady. You might be?”

“ Ohh, I am Ella. Hopps has been with me all this time.”

“ goodness gracious. Thank you so much for taking care of him. I was in this park that day when he got lost. When I got home I couldn't just remember where I took him. So I reported and they just gave me your location.”

“So , he was a lost dog. No wonder he was way too well mannered. “

“What happened to him? What's that mark on his back?”

Ugh! I had to tell him about the dreadful night.

“I hope you will understand, sir,” I said.

“ Yeah , no worries. I am glad he was brought up this good.Let's go home buddy.”

Wait! He was gonna leave already? I would be left all alone again. Although I had to let him go, no matter what. What does not belong to you can never be yours. Sad truth.

I was just turning sad when ……never mind.

“Bye Hopps. We had a great time together.``He was just waving tail just like he did when we met for the first time.

I was just standing as if abandoned while watching him leave with his owner.

Well, to be honest, I felt empty for a few days without him. Soon, I got used to my old life. But I didn't find anyone to chew my shoes. Gosh! It pricks. Little happiness doesn't stay long for life has to make some space for melancholy. After all , we live , we love , we lie to these happy moments.

This is the second time I have to say goodbye to Hopps. Last time was not a proper one but after this time i won't be able to bye him again. He's just lying, and I am watching…………….he is going , I am imaging. You might be thinking why on earth would I be mourning for a dog instead of a human being or any of my relatives? Well, let’s just say it's all about a mere feeling of prettiest moments that can be created with anything or anyone. In my case, it may be just a hound, who got lost and we met with a coincidence. But some moments I had with him , may be placed in a different category, still I am very grateful to him for my life today. Thank you Hopps and sorry to say goodbye.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Fariha Kabir Orchi

subcribe to my profile and get to read all my creations immediately ...thank u

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.