Petlife logo

A Pup Named Meso

I was in no position to take on the responsibility of a new puppy but she is exactly what my heart and soul needed to bring me back to life.

By Crystal RaePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Meso playing in the Yellowstone River

I was finally back living in my home. The one that tried killing me with a natural gas explosion and fire in 2019. This was followed by a contractor who took the insurance money and did not fully complete the job to rebuild it back to a state better than before it blew up and burned. So I was dealing with all of that along with the nationwide epidemic that was taking place in 2020. I was exhausted and running out of reasons to get up and keep fixing my home on my own. My home has been a living nightmare right from the very beginning and I was honestly over it! My children were all young adults and had moved out on their own. I had one dog die from the natural gas poisioning and two others I had to rehome due to my living situation not being safe for animals at that point in time.

It was Easter weekend and I was not feeling great about it. Typically, I would be holding a Tweester event for the teenage/adult kids that included riddles to solve and eggs filled with money for them to find. Instead, I was broke and living in a place that was not suitable for such an event. I guess you could say I was feeling a tad depressed!

Riddle me this, riddle me that...

I just wanted to sleep through the holiday event and not have to feel down about it not looking like it should or did in past years. I lost all of my holiday decorations in the fire as well, so I couldn't even hang festive decorations in an attempt to "fake it until I could make it" happen again. That is when my mini-me sent me the text message...

"Mom, they are giving away free puppies at Walmart"

I remember, I didn't even pause to think about the responsibilities, or if it was a good idea or not. I quickly responded, "Which Walmart"? I jumped out of bed in my pj's and ran to my car. I knew if they were giving away free puppies (especially Easter weekend) they would be gone quickly! As I turned into the parking lot, I began to look at each vehicle. I knew I was looking for a pick-up truck... just not sure color, make, or model. I turned up and down the rows and the further I got, the more my heart began to sink. In the very last row, I was on the verge of tears when I spotted it... the truck with a huge sign "free puppies"! I was ecstatic! I hopped out of my car and ask if they had any females left. The lady pointed to a very small black puppy. I grabbed her and asked what kind of bread she was as I was walking away... German Shephard mix was all I could hear her say.

I was beaming as a tiny, black pup cried and whined as she climb into the neck hole of my hoodie. I suddenly wasn't consumed by negative thoughts or feeling the need to sleep away the holiday weekend. I had something that needed me and I was super happy about that.

Fast forward six months and that 5-pound pup is now a whopping 60-pounds and is the biggest baby I have ever met. It doesn't help that I spoil the living heck out of her. Being a recent empty nester, this pup named Meso was the replacement to the children I was missing caring for at home.

Yes, Meso... as in "Meso Cute" or "Meso Naughty"

Meso and her big stick

I told her she was named after a soup and I haven't been honest about the adoption yet... hahaha! I don't want to break her little heart!

Now, I no longer sleep alone. Eat alone... etc. I am no longer alone or feeling lonely. She is my best friend and I love her dearly!

Her favorite thing is for us to head down to the Yellowstone River. She goes crazy chasing sticks in the river and loves swimming around to cool down from the summer heat. The best part of all of it is the way she runs halfway to the river and looks back at me as if she is making sure she is still okay to keep running ahead of me.

I smile and say, "Go for it" and she continues running full blast to the edge of the water.

The joy this adventure always brings her is an instant boost of happy, happy for me. I never thought I would be so consumed by a pet and yet, she is exactly what I needed. I truly believe this silly old pup named Meso... saved me!

She pulled me out of the darkness I was beginning to feel at home with and gave me a reason to get up every day with all the new responsibilities I had with a new puppy!

I guess you could say... "Meso Happy"!

dog
1

About the Creator

Crystal Rae

My heart bleeds black and white for you to read like an open book... so don't be shy... take a look!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.