Petlife logo

A Letter to my Future Dog

An ode to the memories we will make

By Gabrielle BlairPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Source: Unsplash

I am to recount a memory that my dog and I have shared, but what if these have not yet come to pass? What if these memories are the ones I hope to make, the ones that I hope will live up to my expectations?

I have always wanted a dog. I think almost every child can proclaim this with much enthusiasm. Most of my friends growing up had pets. One of my best friends in primary school had a black poodle named Betty. My neighbour across the street had for lack of a better word, little white dog that barked whenever someone dared walk fifty feet away from the house. One of my other friends had two cats, another even had hermit crabs. It seemed as though everyone had a pet to love but me.

Now, don't get me wrong, it wasn't from lack of love that my parents refused to have a dog in the house; my mother was allergic to animal hair and, as I got older, I realized the cost of caring for an animal was pretty steep. This little dream of mine had all but faded away until something shifted in the air. A pandemic struck the world, if anyone needed any reminding, and as the weeks of confinement turned into months, my younger brother grew anxious, bored, and lonely. He had always wanted a dog, probably more than I ever did, and my mother seemed convinced at the time that that was what was going to get him through this horrible ordeal.

So, we started searching. We had always wanted a golden retriever, but these were not so easy to come by. Waiting lists seemed to stretch on forever until one morning, we came across a breeder a few hours from where we live. On the front page of his website, he is standing in front of a large sign, holding two golden puppies in his arms. My mom called him in hopes that there was a spot left for the 2022 litter. Against all odds and if all went according to plan, he would have a puppy for us before the snow melted into spring.

Names have been tossed left and right, but we have not yet agreed on one. My grandmother, who has had two large malamutes of her own, suggested that we wait until it is born. Her first dog, Star, had — you guessed it — a star-shaped pattern on her chest. This was years before I was born, but she is still, to this day, recalled as the best dog anyone could ever have.

I​t is nearly February now and I must admit that I am growing a little nervous. I've watched more "Coming Home" videos than you can count, but they often don't talk about how difficult to take care of a puppy. The internet is saturated with information about how to train a dog, but I'm under the impression that it isn't as easy as it looks.

Perhaps I sound a little negative, but I am incredibly excited. I can picture us now, running around in my backyard this summer. There are tons of nice paths around where I live and lakes where we can go swim. My mother is already on the lookout for the best toys and treats whenever she goes to the store.

I am excited for what is to come. Any day now, we will be receiving a call to let us know that the litter has been born. I keep thinking of the day we will drive up to meet our new puppy and the first curious steps it will take in its new home. In the meantime, I am writing this letter in hopes to appease my nerves and put a smile on your face. Cheers to all dog lovers out there and to the future memories you will make.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Gabrielle Blair

22 year old literature student with a passion for the arts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.