Petlife logo

A Journey of Intention Discovered through Horses - Part 9

February Fatigue

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Blu and Me - Different Seasons

I’m sitting here, inside, listening to the wind howl and rattle the house. Will winter ever go away this year?

Every time I go out the door, I hear nickers and the horses start pacing. They know it’s grain time. At least I know I’m still loved (lol!) They all look healthy, so I am grateful for that.

That new tack looks good on my desk chair. I have a new saddle, saddle pad, bridle and hackamore waiting for the weather to warm up enough to try these things on horses and spend some quality time outdoors with them again.

Maybe the reason why I’ve struggled to write this piece this month is because I really want to spread positivity, but I’m having a difficult time remaining optimistic myself!

So, I sit here throughout this seemingly endless, gripping, February trying to keep an optimistic focus as I make plans to reach goals with my horses that keep being put off in their intended start dates by ridiculous weather patterns throwing cold, snow and ice. I’m not a fan. What I do know is that in order to pursue my goals effectively, I need to step up my game nutritionally, physically and mentally. I’m not doing terribly in those lifestyle choices as it is, but it’s time to be more greatly invested. It’s making those tiny improvements every day that lead to the big victories in the end. I now have my trusty day planner so I can keep a schedule, and focus on completing tasks, even when I don’t feel like it.

A planner is not a necessary tool for working toward a goal, it just works for me as a way to stay focused and avoid making excuses. It works for me as a way to track progress and continue the motivation to keep moving forward. It also reminds me through seeing actual dates that “someday” isn’t a plan. Every day counts. Personally, not every action brings me closer to my goal as I am a work in progress, and sometimes my days slip away from me – wasted by bad choices – but I keep pushing forward. One day lost doesn’t necessarily ruin the entire path as long as you take the information, learn from it and improve future choices. That’s the learning process.

Here’s the link to my Youtube channel, Adapt-able Horsemanship, documenting my time spent with all of my horses, our training and our progress and our plans. Please subscribe (for free) to witness our learning. When it ever warms up, I will start posting live videos again! There are so many things I want to share with you and work on! I also would love to hear your ideas of what you want to accomplish and see.

The channel is intended for anyone feeling limited by challenges, mental or physical, whether interested in horses or not. Basically, it’s about finding the courage and motivation to overcome your own perceived limitations in order to find a way to pursue whatever you want. The channel features me and my horses, but I’m really seeking an inclusive feel for anyone.

At this time, I’ll just keep sitting here quietly in my frozen bubble, doing what I need to do to be ready for more cooperative outdoor conditions, and marking off the days. Eventually, Spring will get here, right?

So how do I turn this into a positive? Well, I guess I appreciate that there are no bugs.

I sure hope to be back on Blu soon! And have something more interesting to share, both in writing and on video.

See you in March!

You can find the previous parts to my journey with Blu from here:

horse
Like

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.