Petlife logo

A Friend for Life

By Adam Newman

By Adam NewmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
A friend for life

Solitary, monotonous and alone. There lay, in an inescapable state of isolation and torment, the very definition of abandonment. There he lay, caged, dishevelled and bedraggled; no loving home to call his own; a history of pain and anguish. I could see it in his eyes, even as the innocent and inexperienced child I was, I could see grief in those bloodshot eyes. Those lonely eyes. Those eyes neglected from love we all so desperately need. His fur soft but matted. Ungroomed and uncared for. This poor pup appeared to be no more than 6 months of age. No- this was not life. It was at this moment, I knew what I had to do.

It was fate, to put quite simply, that our paths had crossed. Me and my brother were begging my reluctant father to keep him, to look after him, to provide care and security for him. I'm grateful that I did; it's been 10 years since we adopted my best friend Khoda. He's been loyal to me since I was a child; he's played with me; ran with me; protected me; been there for me- a loyal and fellow companion who never said no to me. Never ever. Now he is old but we have no regrets for the life we have enjoyed together and he still has those same beaming brown autumn eyes, golden, luminous mountains in each pupil. I don't see neglect anymore, only love as we sit by the fire reminiscing of a beautiful past.

Never live your life in what ifs. What ifs don't take you to places. What ifs hold you back. By adopting a dog, you are recruiting a family member, a life long partner. I have no regrets and I cherish my friend. I dread to imagine what his fate would have been- possibly a cage of inevitable darkness and enclosure, possibly even death.

I knew he was the one as soon a I laid eyes upon him; he needed looking after, he needed a family to call his own. When I am older and I have children of my own, I hope they can grow up with a friend, a brother just like mine. Animals are a key to happiness and they will always be there for you, in times of doubt, of pain ,of joy and of sadness.

Year by year his personality grew, developed and he came out of his solitary shell. Before, he was silent. Kept himself to himself- bearing his burdens on his frail and slim back. I was immediately drawn to him because I knew there was more to him. Now he talks all the time, especially when there's food around. My walks with him are peaceful and allow us to bond. He looks at me and I look at him. It is clear to the both of us that this is a bond that can never be broken, can never be replaced. Every day we walk in the morning and then go out to play when the Sun is tallest in the sky. Sometimes, I will run with him on a large stretch of green. We will run to our hearts' content. It is liberating.

Of course, not everything is black and white. That's life though. There are days where they may misbehave, not listen to you but that's the beauty of it. They are an individual with a budding personality just like us. Like children, they will be naughty at times. This is the wonder of parenting. You are not only giving an animal a chance of a life worth living but you are also raising a partner who will stand by you for life and will never give up on you.

Each year around 670,000 shelter dogs are euthanized. That's 670,000 lives, 670,000 best friends. Even by adopting just one dog, you could be saving their life. Don't give up on them; they would never give up on you. Thank you.

Words-650

adoption
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.