Petlife logo

A Date With Destiny

The first day I met my beloved Border Collie

By Karissa KingPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Our first meeting

It all started back in September of 2020. As I'm sure some of you know that year wasn't the best for everyone. It certainly was easy for me and I was praying things would get better. I'd like to think I wasn't the only person wanting something to help deal with life.

I was in the Navy looking for a companion to join my journey into civilian life since I was separating the coming January. So I went through adoption websites until I ended up on my local craigslist. There was so many listings for dogs, cats, puppies and kittens I couldn't decide what exactly I was looking for. I knew I wanted a puppy; a pet I could raise and train on my own. My first choice was a German Shepard (the all black ones are my favorite). However, no one had what I was looking for.

Never considered getting myself a Border Collie but when the ad popped up for two female puppies looking for a home I was curious. Clicked the ad, waited for it to load, then fell head over heels. I don't know why I had never looked these dogs up before. Quickly became obsessed with them.

Fun fact; the puppy shown in the title image (my little Yumi), isn't the one I originally wanted. I was interested in her sister that had an all white face and front legs. She looked like a printer ran out of ink before the rest of her pattern showed up. But they both had those piercing blue eyes.

I reached out to the owners and scheduled a meet up to secure my pup before someone else could. When I arrived at the home she introduced me to the available puppies and my heart melted. I was ready to pay whatever the cost to make sure I went home with one once they were old enough. As we talked about which pup I wanted something completely unexpected happened.

The pup that sat alone, no one bothering her, kept to herself waddled over and sat on my foot. She awkwardly tilted her head back and looked up at me wagging her tail as we made eye contact. It's hard to not get all emotional and teary eyed while writing this but that moment changed my life.

I've heard stories of pets choosing their owners or a pet choosing a person in the household as their favorite. But I never thought it would actually happen me. I was happily wrong. This pup picked me.

She chose me.

My little baby chose me.

The owner told me she hadn't shown any interest in the people coming by before so they thought she'd be joining their family. They we're convinced she might be sick as well since she wasn't as active as the other puppies and the mother didn't show much interest either. Could be because she was the runt of the litter; who knows.

So it was settled. This little pup was gonna be mine. I had to wait a month before I got to take her home but I never stopped thinking about that moment. It still blows my mind to this day that she actually picked me.

I named her Yumi (if you're a League of Legends fan... yes she does in fact get the zoomies) and we've been together ever since. I have no idea what I would do without her. She still sits on foot whenever she has the chance and it always reminds me of the day we first met.

She's my pride and joy.

My sunshine on a rainy day.

My guide through the shadows.

My dear Yumi... You are my best friend.

You are my world.

Bday camping trip! We both share June bdays (about a week apart)

adoptiondog
Like

About the Creator

Karissa King

She/Her | Veteran | Art Student

My imagination is where I hide and writing is my escape from reality.

If you read my stories please feel free to leave a comment; I would love to read them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.