Petlife logo

7 Things Your Cat Wants You To Know

Pets

By Rahau MihaiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Cats are undoubtedly among of the most cherished pets in the United States. They have everything going for them, with their lovely charms and clever minds. But what if your cat had something important to tell you? Here are seven things we believe your cat would want you to know, directly from the cat's mouth!

1. I like being outside, but I'll live longer if you keep me inside.

The great outdoors seemed to be my natural environment, full of delights for me to explore and stalk. Nonetheless, it is not the ideal area for me to live. Did you know that I only have a 2-5 year life span when I live outside? That's much too brief! I can live to be 17 years old if you keep me inside in the warmth and caring of your house! That's around 15 years of wonderful embraces and kisses from me especially for you.

2. I just meow for you, not for the other cats.

Apart from the rare hissing fit when we feel threatened, we don't need to meow at other cats. We're merely mewing at you people! When we were kittens, we meowed to alert our mothers when we needed food or comfort. We don't need to meow as adults except to communicate with you when we are hungry, want to say hello, or something is wrong. And the more you communicate with us, the more we communicate with you!

3. I need more than dry cat food.

I don't merely have the appearance of a tiger... I should eat like one, too! I'm a real carnivore, which means I need a meat-based diet. Of course, I prefer to snack on dry food throughout the day, but this is not the healthiest diet for me. I am more prone to fat and diabetes than my wet-food-eating canine companions.

4. I need you to spend some stimulating time with me every now and then since I grow bored.

I'm sorry when you go for work! I like having company. I need company much more if I don't have a sister or sibling to play with. Please don't simply play on your phones or watch TV when you get home. Spend some time with me and stimulate my senses! Play with some cat toys with me to give me some exercise while also allowing us to connect as humans and cats. Not only will I appreciate it, but it will also weary me out enough to get me ready for bed.

5. Sitting with me may help you decrease stress and your chances of having a heart attack or stroke.

Did you realize that owning me reduces your stroke risk by one-third? That is correct! My charming little furry soul may help alleviate your tension and worry, and the vibrations from my purrs can also help heal you.

6. Don't be upset with me because I have to itch!

When you see me clawing your furniture, it's not because I want to ruin it. I really simply need a comfortable area to stretch my feet and claws! I also need to remove part of my outer claw layers as they deteriorate and become brittle. I scratch objects sometimes to indicate my territory by leaving claw marks and a smell. Please don't be offended; it's my instinct! Getting some scratching trees or posts is a wonderful method to fix this. This way, I know there's always a secure spot for me to stretch and itch.

7. Just because you call my name does not guarantee that I will appear.

No matter how adorable my cat's name is, you could say it a million times and I'd still stare out the window. Believe me, I know what my name is. I've picked it up from all the times you've told me. Because I'm a cat, I'm not obligated to obey you like Fido next door. Because you are higher up in the hierarchy, if you call a dog, he will immediately come rushing. None of this matters to me. I remember everything, from the last time you forced me to take that horrible medication to the time you brought me to the vet. It's not that I don't love you; I simply like to do things my way.

Hopefully, these cat care suggestions will help you get closer to your little feline while also helping your kitten live the healthiest life possible so they can spend more time being a companion for you.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Rahau Mihai

Hi! Come to my profile and you will see really useful things or something to relax you !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.