Men logo

To All The Dads

It's okay to hide and it's okay to talk

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
12
To All The Dads
Photo by Heike Mintel on Unsplash

Dear Dad,

I wish you could see this. A community, just for you. I wish you could see how there’s space for you. A space to talk about things men have seen, have gone through, have done. I wish you could see it.

I wish you could realize that you ain’t alone in it all. That being a man is hard and that’s okay and that you can talk about it. Only when you’re ready. But I wish you could realize that it is a possibility. You don’t have to pretend everything is always okay. You can let it out.

I wish you’d let it out. Let out all that anger and expectations that have weighed you down.

Yes, you are tree.

Yes, you are a sturdy trunk holding the sky.

Yes, you have roots buried deep.

And yes, each puff of wind throws you into a flurry of limbs.

It’s okay to waver, but you are stronger than you accept. And you’re not alone.

There are other trees in this forest.

I wish you could see them all. Struggling to stand tall, yet still trying to grow.

I know you’re trying to grow, and find an ounce of reason and purpose to keep going. I wish you could see this space for you, so you know there are those who struggle with reason and purpose and the thought of going too.

I wish you could let someone see you. Not what you do, but who you are. You’ve always said that you cannot stand inauthenticity, that you don’t like mind games and miscommunication. So why do you hide yourself?

I wish you’d see that this is a chance. A chance to be authentic and communicate without the fear of being stopped, or talked over, or shamed. There is no shame in trying to grow.

There is no shame in writing everything down and letting it float away. It’s grief, but it’s the healing process of letting go too. And you’ve lived with a lot of grief- I see it.

But you’re not alone. I wish you could see that.

But I know it has to be on your terms. It has to come from your heart and mind, not just your child’s perspective and hopes.

But I do have hope. Maybe it’s childish of me. But I do have hope that you’ll find peace and calm in the storm of your life. Because you don’t have to be spinning like a tornado all the time. You can rest. You can give time to all the things you’re running from inside and out.

It won’t make you any less of a man.

And it might just bring you closer to all the others out there who might be going through similar things.

This community is for you Dad.

For the one day that you are ready to share.

~

I do want to take the time here to thank Vocal for finally making a community and space specifically for men. Everyone should feel that there is space for them. And although our societies are trying to be more inclusive (yet often times are exclusive), I believe that this Vocal community matters in the battle of breaking stigmas and stereotypes. It can educate folks, it can provide support, and it can help heal.

I suppose that's what this letter to my Dad is all about. Healing.

And in my opinion, healing can only really happen on the individual's terms.

I hope this new Vocal community will be able to bring healing to those who seek it.

EmpowermentFatherhoodManhood
12

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    BLESS YOU !!! PRAYING FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY!!! MY DAD HAS BEEN GONE FOR 18 YEARS !!!

  • This is a beautiful, sensitive letter, Oneg. Whether or not your father ever is ready to read it, many others will.

  • I hope your dad finds his way to share. It’s easy for a writer it’s what we do express everything out in words. Very heartfelt and honest piece Oneg

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    "There are other trees in this forest." This line says it all for me. I truly hope the new Men Community will be a forest full of strong trees we can all take shelter within. I hope your Dad will see it soon too ❤

  • Hannah E. Aaron11 months ago

    This letter is so extremely heartfelt. The metaphor concerning trees and forests is very powerful. I hope your dad is able to find his forest when he is ready (I agree with you that "healing can only really happen on the individual's terms"). Great job!

  • Andy Pullano11 months ago

    A wonderful article.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Glad that you wrote this. This sentence encapsulates the community " Not what you do, but who you are."

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    This is written so sweetly for your Dad . Did he read this ?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.