Men logo

Things I Love About My Man

The things we have in common

By Chloe GilholyPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Things I Love About My Man
Photo by Nicola Fioravanti on Unsplash

When Vocal opened up their new community hub dedicated for men, I thought that’s one thing I won‘t be able to write for. But having been inspired by the stories already posted there, so I thought I could give it a go and celebrate the new hubs on Vocal. These are the things that I love about my boyfriend.

1) The video calls

We live in different countries but luckily not far to go. It works cause we make it work and we call almost every day. Being a traveller, I guess this helps makes our relationship special.

2) We’re compatible

This is a polite way to say that we feel connected and comfortable around with each other. I always feel confident around him trying new things even if they do scare me.

3) We travel together

Our holidays together are always fun. There was two that got cancelled cause of COVID but we don’t let it stop us. He is still cautious about it.

4) Mutual understanding

We’ve both been traumatised by bullies and understand how the damage can linger for the rest of your life. Be understands and accepts I have depression and anxiety sometimes when nobody sees it.

5) Autism

He can see through my mask. People on spectrum tend to mask a lot, but hopefully we won’t need to do that anymore.

6) He has a Chloe Detector

I admit I have several pen names and alter egos. When I write anonymous or under a non de plume, he knows it’s me.

7) Pokémon

We both met on a forum that was part of a Pokémon site called Serebii. The forum is kinda dead now, but it’s still one of the biggest fan sites for it. A lot of my cringey teenager posts and stories still exist.

8) Little Britain

We both have a guilty pleasure for trash TV and sitcoms like Little Britain. He thinks I should cosplay as Vicky Pollard one day.

9) Nightwish

We both love this band and we watched the End of an Era concert together. He often teases me on my crushes on Tarja and Floor. He does a very good Tarja impression.

10) Unpopular Opinions

We both share a lot of unpopular opinions like vegan food is awesome, The Wings has better music than the Beatles. Johto being the best Pokémon region.

11) He has pretty eyes

I love his eyes. Always did. He conveys so much passion and love in them. He dosen’t care if he’s too lovey covey in public especially if it’s in an area where no one knows us.

12) His long hair

When I first knew him, he had this bowler hair cut, but now he has grown it and he said he feels more like himself. People tell me he should get a haircut and he said they should go fuck themselves.

13) Messages

He sends me texts that he loves me every day. I think that’s sweet. He tells me what he gets up to, where he walks to and what he’s watching and writing.

14) Nonjudgemental

I can say what I want without being judged. He dosen’t care that I made mistakes. It’s a treasure for a woman like me. I won’t get shouted at, belittled or gaslight like what my exes did to me. I was in this relationship cause I wanted to be in it not cause I felt like I had to be.

15) He will read this, laugh and maybe cringe but laugh it off.

He does. He reads mine all the time. He might make a Vocal account someday.

General
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.