Marriage logo

Will you be my Queen and I your Slim?

A Poet's Love Story

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Will you be my Queen and I your Slim?
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

As my Lullaby starts, it ends the same. When I woke I was not ready for the day.

To be honest, I'm scared. This is new to me, having to go to the next steps.

My fingers get tied up as I try to remember my father's lessons on how to tie a tie.

What if the car stops, do I know how to change a spare?

The thoughts of you keep me lifted, as I day dream and see you walking toward me.

A hug to stop my nervous heart.

Listening to some Daniel Caesar just thinking, just breathing.

What is the Best part of me? What do you like about me?

Is it my intelligence? Is it my sense of humor?

Is it my love for sports?

It was different playing 20 questions, now we will have a candle light dinner with merlot in the middle.

As I wiggle my finger, I try to remove my focus.

No book prepared me for this. Dream or not, I'm not ready for this test.

But... Just give me time.

I promise that after this first dinner there will be more.

The flower leaves I pulled said you will be mine and I yours.

See I'm actually poetic.

Roses are red and violets are blue. As I play the jazz from my trumpet, this piece is handcrafted just for you.

When you want to hide from the world, my chest is your cave and my arms are your blanket.

Don't worry my sweater is water proof, your worries will be stored in my heart as the warmth keeps our love ablaze.

Late night antics, movie playing as we fake napping.

Kissing your forehead as you snooze peacefully, you are in the arms of a King and you my Queen.

Queen and Slim, it's just me and you against the chaos of the world.

We can make our own Broadway show, our own Walk of Fame.

This dream will end so reality can begin.

As my Lullaby starts, it ends the same. When I woke... now I'm ready for the day.

I am ready to be your umbrella from the rain.

I am ready to be your poet when you need to hear words strung together on a string when you have pain, I will be your filter to clean out the tears.

Will you be my Queen and I your Slim?

Us against the world, just let me get my shoes on so we can begin.

The adventures we will take, will be having us thinking we are on Clouds floating.

Hitting each cord as we go to each end, from Chicago to London's South Ends.

Oh and we have to take notes.

Jot down in the notebook you carry. Let's create a unique love story.

Not just kissing and hugging, but one of adventures and laughter.

Running through puddles and eating weird food.

You're my Queen right? Ok then, just trust me.

I have no itinerary, just imagination and the next thing I can make reality out of.

We can plan when we get old, just live now and save the rest for later.

Doing dances from other cultures and meeting new people.

Above all, I just want to be... with you.

A poet's love story. An adventure that's only beginning.

Let your cares go and hop on my Aladdin carpet and let's see the world.

Don't worry, my parents raised me to be a King. I know how to care for you, my lady my Queen.

Tying ties and changing spares, let's make this dinner date last a lifetime. Pouring up more glasses, as the Merlot warms up our souls.

ceremony and reception
1

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.