Marriage logo

What the Wedding!?

Planning and Styling

By Rogue CinderellaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
World's loveliest hobby (in my view of course!)

When two individuals meet, love does not happen all at once. It's the subtlest of things that add up over time, like when we wake up and wish our sweetheart a “good morning” before even checking our phone, or when we fetch them a drink without even asking when we grab one for ourselves, etc. Thinking all of these made me realize that the most beautiful things in the world are love and romance. We find romance in the most unexpected places and love, without a doubt, makes the world a better place.

The wedding might be the most important event in anyone's life. It contains many beautiful memories that will live on in people's dreams for a long time. When a couple looks back on their relationship, I feel the little details that lead up to their love, marriage, and vows signify a lot. So, every couple is entitled to a marriage that is a true representation of their love. That's what drew me to weddings in the first place. What could be more wonderful than being surrounded by love all the time? What could be more amazing than being able to help the couples express their love without the stressful part of the wedding? So, I decided to become a wedding planner and stylist. Apart from this, I also enjoy floristry and organizing. That was how I was inspired and decided that this might be a wonderful career for me.

As a matter of fact, in January 2020, I began my incredible journey (as a hobby) as a wedding planner/stylist. I never looked back afterward when. I enrolled in a course of six months at Wedding Academy Global, which provided me with all of the necessary experience and knowledge. It was interesting to learn about the many traditions of weddings throughout the world and what each tradition represented. It was difficult at first, but as I became acquainted with the dictionary of wedding terminology, it became a lot easier and more enjoyable. I realized that wedding planning may be difficult at times and takes a great deal of patience and understanding of the customers. The wedding must reflect the clients' personalities. Only then can we make it as beautiful as them.

But sometimes life has a way of giving us setbacks and teaching us some important life lessons. I got stuck with fear of progressing after completing my course. My entire soul was warning me not to go for it. It is a normal reaction when we attempt to step outside of our comfort zone. After two months of dealing with my concerns, I decided to confront them. In August of 2020, I had my first styled shoot.

My first styled shoot

Trust me when I say that I adored it to the core of my being. It was really gratifying to my spirit. I set up a table under a tree and leased some chairs and linens. I purchased some candles and dining sets. I set up a dining table that would be needed for the reception. I then purchased some flowers and grass, trimmed them to a medium height, and placed them in little pots hidden behind the linen to make it appear like it was a part of the earth itself. My inspiration for this styled shoot was my importance to nature. I wanted to make it look raw and wild as if it was a gift from nature itself. This gave me a lot of confidence to keep going on this quest.

I began part-time work in wedding planning and styling. When a client comes to me, I attempt to understand them, their ideas, their desires, and the most intimate details in order to gain a sense of the sort of wedding they desire. I next begin researching various forms and styles of weddings and cut out some pictures to create a vision board that would be ideal for the couple to draw inspiration from for my styling.

work in progress

The next stage would be to create a planning timeline and stick to it. Looking at locations, collaborating with various vendors, wine tasting, food and cake sampling, different types of buffets or food stalls, reception time, cocktail hours, and so on. It is a never-ending process, believe me, but every step of the way fills you with love and warmth which satiates me to the core.

The wedding day would be the most frantic of all. Styling and overseeing need a lot of energy. The best thing is that even under strain, you keep going by realizing that you are supporting a couple in creating their everlasting memories on that day. I cry every time they fulfill their vows and exchange their rings (yes I am undoubtedly an emotional happiest being!)

Wedding Day.

There will be a lot to talk about when it comes to wedding styling; it is a never-ending process. All I know is that it makes me extremely happy and is the reason I wake up with tingling nerves and butterflies in my stomach. I'd like to turn this into a full-time company and start doing destination weddings as well, as I enjoy traveling. I am immensely grateful that I had a chance to pursue this hobby as a career and will continue to carry this enthusiasm in the coming days, months, and years!

ceremony and reception
Like

About the Creator

Rogue Cinderella

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.