Marriage logo

Tips for a DIY Wedding

Tips for a DIY Wedding

By Bal SawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Tips for a DIY Wedding
Photo by Luwadlin Bosman on Unsplash

Planning a wedding is one of the most exciting but stressful experiences a person can face. most people hire a wedding planner to help them, while others do it all DIY. For those who mingle on the grass themselves, many things - large and small - can easily deviate from the whole process. Here are a few tips for the bride or groom to return to the person who planned the wedding.

1.) Write it all down.

It is important that you write down your thoughts from the moment you propose marriage. I highly recommend using a word document or something of that nature to write it down. there is always the possibility that you will simply miss out on this important piece of paper with details that you do not remember.

Write down the things you would like to do for your big day; your post-wedding vacation; timeline for practice, event, and reception; a comprehensive list of do's and don'ts and what to expect; what decorations you would like and how you would like; what flowers for whom; and, of course, a shopping list. This was one of the most important lists I had of my marriage. you will always meet your list, counting on your big day.

2.) Use wedding planning apps.

Yes, there is an app for this! Usually, it gives you a custom checklist of things to do. and will manage your guest book from there, and as local search updates, chefs, and more. I personally have used the Knot Wedding Planner app (10/10, highly recommended), but there are many others like WeddingWire Wedding Planner or WedAbout Wedding Planning. there is much more, so go to your AppStore or Google Play Store and download!

3.) Seek help.

Use your friends in the best way possible. It is always good to have an extra set to help set everything up. Your marriage is already set up for your best friends, so why not get some help from them? If they are in the company of close friends, they will be more inclined to help.

4.) Do not let others change your mind.

In my opinion, the woman of my event venue has always been trying to change what I would like. At one point, I put my foot down and said how I wanted it to happen. Sometimes, you have to try to do that. Whether it’s your parent, future spouse, or local coordinator, YOUR date; you (and your partner if they need to say so) decide what happens.

5.) Stay alert.

Usually, you will have a wedding planner to be the one to contact the locals so they don’t cook and what, and bother them with feedback. However, yours, that's your role. Sometimes, you just want to get bored trying to get things done. you have a deadline to satisfy them, and you buy their services. They will deal with it; trust me.

6.) be careful who you choose.

If you are making your wedding DIY, you will probably choose someone on your edge to direct your wedding, because they will not expect you to buy it. But feel your courage. If someone promises to try you, and you don't feel good about it, respectfully say no. My father's friend said he would look after my marriage, and just before my wedding my family had an argument with his, leaving me a month before my date with no one to marry me. At first, I just didn't like the idea and my husband didn't have it now. However, my family assured us that we were doing. So, it’s okay to stay.

7.) do not push yourself too hard.

Okay, I know this seems impossible, but I've heard it. the more stressed you are, the more things will begin to rot. can organize and prepare. The day before I got married, I argued with my mom over something that would be resolved without fighting. It's okay to have pressure to touch, but keep it in shape. even if something goes wrong, in the end, you are surrounded by people who love you and need help, and you will be married to the love of your life. What more could you ask for?

I hope this little guide helps most of you who are getting married soon. And from the rock of my heart, I congratulate you all.

ceremony and reception
Like

About the Creator

Bal Sawn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.