Marriage logo

Things to Skip While Planning A Wedding

Advice for Newly Engaged Couples

By Ada ZubaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Things to Skip While Planning A Wedding
Photo by Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash

While the pandemic was starting up a storm, there were a few brides planning a wedding and since then brides and grooms have realized that there is so much money being wasted. I have been gathering information from youtubers and tiktokers and here is a list of things that are a waste at your wedding.

1. Menu cards

The general consensus is that none of the guests notice it or care about them. Yes, they can look pretty but it is a waste of paper and money to make them and they will end up in the recycling or on the dance floor. People tend to remember what they ordered for the wedding anyways.

By Visual Stories || Micheile on Unsplash

2. Party Favors

I personally have mixed feelings about this one for both my sisters' and friends' wedding everyone loved the party favors, yet many brides on tiktok mentioned that they had many leftovers with their party favors and it took a lot of effort and money to make them, but I think it depends on what it is you plan on giving your guests. My friend had board games at her wedding, my one sister had loose leaf tea and my other sister had seeds. At another wedding they gave everyone a personalized cookie with their name as place cards and party favors. All of those were very well appreciated.

By Kristina Balić on Unsplash

3. Matching Bridesmaid pjs

So many girls take pictures in matching pajamas, but then afterward you do not really do anything with the photos or even the pajamas. I personally have never experienced these photos or have received these. I feel like asking your bridesmaids to be bridesmaids; would be a great gift, but I wouldn't take pictures other than maybe a few selfies.

By @rw.studios on Unsplash

4. Head table versus sweetheart table

As sad as it is, you spend very little time with your new husband on your wedding day, you are constantly surrounded by your family and friends and you barely get time together with each other than maybe the first dance. I think it really depends how big or small your wedding party is if it is big then yeah it makes sense, but if it is an intimate wedding then definitely go with the head table.

By Samantha Gades on Unsplash

5. Hiring a Wedding Planner

Skip! Skip! skip! it is so much better to find everything you need yourself and it will give you a sense of accomplishment. Dollar stores are exactly what you need. I feel like if you plan your own wedding it will give your guests a sense of what you as a couple are like.

By Jazmin Quaynor on Unsplash

6. A Wedding Cake

This is a large portion of the money going towards a cake, which no one will eat, it is true but if you were to do a cake then serve it immediately after dinner otherwise no one will touch it. I know for my friend's wedding she did not have a cake and it would not make a difference if she did. At my one sister's wedding, I did not have the energy or the stomach to fit a piece of cake.

By Jason Leung on Unsplash

7. A DJ

Don't even think about it, Dj's ruin your favorite songs and they are expensive, it is so much better to make your own playlist of songs that you love and you know your guests will enjoy them as well, whereas with a DJ you have no clue what to expect.

By Jorge Gordo on Unsplash

8. Videographer

Look me in the eyes and tell me that you actually watched your wedding video in the last five years...you have not and it is not worth it, although you might want to keep it and show it to your future children, photos should be enough to remember the day you got married.

By Thomas William on Unsplash

9. Photos of you getting ready

You don't need them, chances are the hotel room or your house will be a mess the day of your wedding, it will be filled with make-up artist's things and it just looks bad. I think personally it is a little tacky and not needed. I took pictures with my cellphone and they turned out only okay.

By Laura Chouette on Unsplash

10. Designer shoes

First of all, no one will see your shoes! You will also be in pain on your wedding day and don’t forget the blisters that come with it! It is not worth buying those heels. Go in flats so you can actually have fun!

By Emily Gouker on Unsplash

ceremony and reception
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.