Marriage logo

The Truth About Wedding Planning

What Engaged People Won't Tell You When Planning

By CaitiePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I recently got engaged to the absolute love of my life (September 2018)! But no one taught me how to plan a wedding, and no one shared how to pick venues, or things like that either. As you read along you will learn some hacks and tips for planning the perfect wedding for those of us who are not looking to spend our honeymoon money on the celebration and the reception!

The first thing that comes to mind when wedding planning is either of three, or all three of these, things at once: the venue, the dress, and the bridal party. For me, all three of these things popped into my head, and I kid you not, stressed me out! Think about it... those are the most expensive parts of the wedding, besides catering! Luckily, I already had my bridesmaids picked out. My maid of honor (my sister obviously), my best friends... and I had to tell them, "I can't pay for your dress," but as awesome and understanding as they are, they were like, "yeah that is fine." My bridal party members are blessings, for real.

Now, the venue? Everywhere I looked was super expensive for my taste, however, we know we wanted our wedding local, so everyone we know can go! I found the venue actually by asking around, and already knowing the place! We decided on High Bridge in Wilmore, Ky. Having grown up in Jessamine County, I knew the venue pretty well, but what I didn't know was how to book it. Sometimes you need to do your own research! I asked around, and no one knew how to exactly book it, so I went online and googled it. It is a $200 deposit, but you get $125 back the day of renting it! How's that for the budget? A pretty great deal if you ask me.

The dress? Well, no one told me that David's Bridal has sales every spring! They also have $99 dresses for sale too, now and then. But what they need to tell you is to NEVER choose a dress you aren't 100 percent happy about. It is your wedding, it is up to you at the end of the day to say yes to the dress! Some make the mistake of choosing one just because someone else was buying it, or because their parent(s) chose it, and they didn't want to hurt feelings. Don't, I repeat, don't choose something because other people like it. You most likely won't be happy at all, and you will obsess over what you could have worn. You are building a lifetime of memories when you are planning, and attending your wedding! Don't kill your happiness by trying to make other's happy.

Now, another few things I wanna let you all in on, the guests! Something they won't tell you is that you should only invite people who are positive, and good for you and the others they will be around. You do not want to invite people you either don't know, or don't want to associate with. This one has laid heavy on my heart, however, no one can make you and your fiancé pick your guests. For example, I am not inviting my father. Why? He wasn't ever really there for me, and he would just bring others down. Sure people can try their best to be on their best behaviors, but if those people are willing to act up at other social events or happenings, then they won't care to act up at your wedding. That is the truth. We don't need soul suckers at our weddings!

Something I learned and benefited from in planning is that if you know a photographer that is still building their portfolio, but is really talented, you can hire them, and they will work with you on the price! I actually hired ours for about $350, compared to others that were around $1000 plus!

The hardest decision from my experience so far is probably choosing the colors! I'm pretty sure I changed mine like a handful of times. A good tip is to use Pinterest, and search the season you want to be married in such as "Fall Weddings." Don't be afraid of searching for inspiration. The second hardest decision would be the cake! Make sure you try it before hiring the baker!

That is all I have met so far, I hope you can use my insight to help you in planning yours! Have a beautiful wedding, and don't stress!

ceremony and reception
Like

About the Creator

Caitie

Empty Bio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.