Marriage logo

The Importance of Unconditional Love

The Path to Unconditional Love: Letting Go of Reasons and Expectations

By KWAO LEARNER WINFREDPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
1
The Importance of Unconditional Love
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

The transcript touches on a profound truth - that real, unconditional love expects nothing in return. As humans, we often view relationships transactionally, seeking to get our needs met by others. We love conditionally, based on what the other person does for us. But true love has no ulterior motive. It loves for the sake of loving.

This is the kind of selfless love modeled by Jesus. As the transcript points out, he did not entrust himself to others or rely on their approval, "for he knew what was in human nature." Jesus' love and sense of value came from within, not from fickle crowds. Wise words for us all.

Rejection is a Test of Self-Love

Being rejected always hurts, but the transcript offers a poignant insight - rejection tests your self-love. If you crumble at the slightest criticism, it likely means your self-worth is tied to others' validation. You expect love, rather than give it freely. But if you can stay steady in yourself when rejected, that shows you have a firm foundation of self-love. As the speaker puts it, healthy self-love allows you to "keep on moving" despite rejection.

This truth hit me deeply as a teenager. I was crushed whenever friends left me out. Only in time did I realize my volatile self-esteem depended too much on inclusion and approval. As I grew more comfortable in my own skin, rejection rolled off my back. I agree wholeheartedly - self-love is essential armor against the sticks and stones of life.

The Pitfalls of Loving for Reasons

The transcript offers a warning I now see as wisdom - never love someone for specific reasons. Doing so puts conditions on the affection. It says, "I love you because of X" or "I love you when you do Y." This makes love dependent on circumstances. Once the "because" disappears, the love may fade. How fragile! How prone to disappointment!

I remember my first girlfriend in middle school. I was lovestruck by her bubbly personality, cute laugh, and great clothes. But when she changed over the summer, becoming more serious and sporty, my "reasons" for loving her no longer applied. Immature as I was, my affection faded. I learned the hard way love must transcend reasons.

As the speaker stresses, even our Creator loves unconditionally. God doesn't love us because of anything we do or have. Divine love has no "because," no caveats. It is total commitment. This inspires me to love others not for what they can give me, but simply because they exist as fellow human beings. Loving solely for reasons is loving selfishly.

From Reasons to Expectations

Giving reasons for love breeds a dangerous cycle, as the talk explains. Reasons become expectations which then lead to disappointment. We expect the one we love to keep providing what first drew us to them. When they inevitably change or fail to meet our standards, it crushes the soul. Our unmet expectations turn into resentment.

This has played out in my own relationships. I'd be enchanted by someone's athleticism, intelligence, or success only to be let down later. Rather than appreciate them as whole people, I expected them to keep proving their worth through the same narrow traits. And when they didn't, I felt betrayed, even though they'd done nothing wrong. My conditional love was the problem.

As the speaker advices, eliminating expectations is key. Loving someone simply for who they are makes disappointment impossible. Things may change on the surface, but the essence we love remains. Unconditional love persists through the ups and downs. It asks nothing in return.

The Root of Dysfunction

Tracing the talk's logic, it becomes clear - unreasonable love causes suffering, not just for individuals but whole communities. When love depends on conditions, relationships eventually rupture. The family unit breaks down, producing instability for children. Dysfunction breeds crime, addiction, and mental health crises which damage neighborhoods. Before you know it, society itself reflects the collective trauma of conditional love.

The speaker finds the origins of social decay in those initial unreasonable expectations between lovers. By loving only for what someone else can do for you, seeds of destruction sprout, spreading like weeds. How true that families are the building blocks of society! The purity of love therein determines the strength of the larger community.

Unlearning Conditional Love

After internalizing these insights, I'm convinced unconditional love is the path to personal fulfillment and collective prosperity. But habits die hard. I must unlearn years of conditioned behavior. As suggested, writing down the reasons and expectations trapping my past relationships is a powerful exercise. I will burn that list - a ritual of release. While the process may be ongoing, it inspires me to move closer each day to unconditional love.

I'm grateful for the wisdom in this transcript. It has deeply enriched my understanding of love's true meaning. May we all reflect on why we love. And in doing so, learn to love for no reason at all. For in that space of freedom, our relationships bloom, families flourish, and society progresses. Unconditional love is the greatest gift we can give one another.

wedding invitationsgroomsceremony and reception
1

About the Creator

KWAO LEARNER WINFRED

History is my passion. Ever since I was a child, I've been fascinated by the stories of the past. I eagerly soaked up tales of ancient civilizations, heroic adventures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! I need a hug! Wonderfully written! Fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.