Marriage logo

The Big Day

Becoming A Wifey

By Teresa CarlislePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The Big Day
Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

I remember the day before the wedding and how it all played out. I was visiting my grandparents who had been married over 60+ years and had quite the legacy to talk about. We had a rehearsal wedding and dinner to attend. It was my mom, my grandma, my grandpa and I all piled in the Ford Truck heading to Calvary Chapel The Bridge in Cathedral City, CA. My mom was not in a good mood and both my grandparents were trying to be calm. All of us were on edge with the upcoming wedding day approaching. It was in the month of December and I could hardly wait to be a Mrs.

Mom finally hauled off and blew up on all of us as we were approaching the church. We soon managed to calm down after a heated foo foo. Something about going to the House of God kind of sets you straight. My fiance, his mom, her friend, his dad and his dad's girlfriend were all in attendance. We all went in and went through the practice of getting married and knowing our places. My mom was still miffed, but I'm proud of the fact she did what she could to be composed. We then went to the restaurant for the rehearsal dinner and had an amazing time. We took lots of pictures, ate great food and went home completely full.

The day of the wedding I was pacing and trying not to be too neurotic. I honestly was a mess. I couldn't decide what hair style, what make up was going to be on my face and so forth. My friend wanted to have her son come by and take pre-wedding photos but my family was up in arms over it. It was bad enough that my mom who was my maid of honor was acting goofy all day long prior. The wedding was at 4pm. Then when I was ready to head to the church with my grandpa I nearly tore the train of my wedding dress with my high heel. My grandpa was able to save the situation and helped me get into the truck.

We started to head to the church and as grandpa was driving I realized that opening the window was not a good idea with my hair needing to stay under control. I was very quiet for the most part and we did say a few things in retrospect to each other. Grandpa deep down was happy yet sad to see me get married. He had a hand in raising me from a pup. I remember when my dad passed away when I was four that he became all that I had for a father figure. He really did all he could be the bread winner and my best bet. My husband to be was someone I knew in my heart would be good for me and someone who would look out for me.

We started to pull into the church and at a glance I spotted my fiance from across the parking lot and told my grandpa to stop. He stopped and waited until my fiance was in the church. I slowly got out of the truck and went directly to the brides room. My soon to be father in law's girlfriend helped me with getting ready and basically waited with me. My aunt Gloria peeked her head around the corner and said hello and congratulations. My nerves were all on edge, but what kept me going was the upcoming end result. Finally I got my cue and grandpa and I headed down the aisle. As we approached the pastor and my fiance I was already tearing up.

Then we were face to face and the pastor began his words. Have you ever been in a tunnel and everything around you is loud but your eyes are fixed on the road ahead as you focus on just what you can? That was me at my wedding. I heard everything fine but my mind was on the moment. When it came to repeating the vows I realized I better know exactly what this means because this is the real deal. I was face to face with my husband to be and repeating my vows to him. I felt a sense of happiness, joy and hope for our future. When we finally turned and faced our family the encounter was amazing. We headed to the restaurant for the reception very excited and very happy. I think from that day forward I will always cherish the look he gave me and how I felt at that time. Even to this day when he is beside me I feel strong, loved and happy.

ceremony and reception
1

About the Creator

Teresa Carlisle

I’m a mom, an artist and a caregiver. I love life and I keep going strong!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.