Marriage logo

One Too Many

The Merlot Connection

By Bill ArnoldPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

The most beautiful, sexy, compassionate, smart, funny woman that I had ever met, and my dream date, just danced, twirled to the bed, slipped away from my fingers, fell onto her backside, bounced back up off the bed, and then proceeded to throw up the exquisite dinner that she ate earlier.

“Throw up” doesn’t do the visual justice. It was more of an explosive projection of filet mignon, shrimp, scallops, pasta and a deep red Merlot, that spewed all over me.

A volatile, volcanic force of nature had surely just ruined my new suit. I guess it wasn’t a “force of nature”, it would be more of a scientific, bodily, and neurological function based on gravity, gas and combustion…Or something like that.

How about too much alcohol? Yes. Simply one to many glasses of Merlot, had turned the “Dream Date” into the “Nightmare in room 711, at the Hotel Palo.”

I’m a gentleman, and I will take care of her, right after I race to the bathroom and, don’t worry, I know, one visual is enough.

Ok, let’s go back to the beginning, when I was lost in her eyes, and knew I was in love, and then we’ll skip the gratuitous love-making scene, which of course we actually did skip, and then we can see how this thing ends.

from the Hotel Piano Player:

It was a dark and stormy night. I was positioned at the most expensive piece of furniture in the Hotel; A new $69,700 Steinway Baby Grand Piano, and that was the price of a low end model. This Classic, luxurious musical instrument and I were located to the right of the main lobby, on a mid-level raised platform in the corner. A perfect view of the cozy lounge, long bar, restaurant area, and of course the outside front of the Hotel.

I've been working here for many years. I just turned 74, and my long wavy hair and beard turned a nice silver-gray. I was wearing a nice, tailored, black suit, and tonight was a big night.

But, this story isn't about me, it's about a first date, and a glass of Merlot, or maybe a few too many, between my young friend, who lives here at the hotel and his "dream date". They should arrive anytime now, and what do you know? There's his exotic, new sports car arriving now.

I'm not sure what kind it is. Just sleek and curvy and powerful and nice. Real nice. The simple color of white, with a chocolate, coco interior. It was like I was watching a 3-D commercial, as it glistened in the rain and came to life every time the lightning flashed in the sky above, and when the valet kid opened the passenger door, an angel appeared.

Her toned, tanned legs were featured when the fierce wind picked up her brown, low cut dress, and whipped it up, into the air. In fact, the dress and her long, wavy, brunette hair with blonde highlights, paired quite well with the cars interior.

He pulled his suit jacket off to cover her like an umbrella and they sprinted to the front door, laughing.... I smiled...Thinking to myself: "He's a fine young man, and it's nice to see that Chivalry is still alive" and then I started to play a cool Jazz Tune.

Soon enough, my friend and his new date, would make it to the table that was on a raised level of the restaurant, and actually close to me. It was his favorite spot, we'd talk on occasion, between songs, and then this last month, ever since she wasn't around, we would close the place down, getting drunk at the main bar, almost every night.

My gosh, I thought to myself: "She's even more breathtaking close up." He waved to me, "Hello" and she smiled brightly. I nodded, and then forced my arthritic hands to do some dazzling fast action across the ivory keys, just like my younger days. The warmth of her smile gave me a burst of adrenalin and a tingling feeling inside. Man, he must have really been feeling great.

With the help of the Piano's una corda and sos tuneto, which are the left, and middle pedals on the floor, I could soften the tone and play the piano quiet enough to listen to the bright couples dinner conversation. I enjoyed living vicariously through the young man's dinner talks, which covered big-business meetings with executives from all over the world, finance, investments, millions of dollars, a jet-set life style of travel and the exotic, wild adventures he experienced with his younger fiance'. Everything was quite enjoyable to listen to and visualize.

She glanced at the menu, as he stared at her. After a few moments, she looked up, smiling. "What?" she asked.

"Nothing... You just look simply... Beautiful."

"Thank you."

They looked into each others eyes for what seemed like an eternity, and finally he said:

"I just realized that we've known each other for a year, and we've already talked about everything in the world and there's nothing left to say."

She immediately started laughing and nodding her head in agreement.

"I know, I was just going to say the same thing."

The waiter arrived, explained the "Dinner Specials"...handed them both a cocktail/wine list, and asked them what they would like to drink.

After a moment the woman said, "I'll have a glass of Merlot."

He immediately said, "Yes!... Merlot...great choice... I saw a movie the other day called The Merlot Connection, an Action/Suspense/ Conspiracy, Thriller and it featured this one right here. He points to the wine menu, and says, "We'll have a bottle of the 2015 Le Macchiole Messorio."

The waiter said, "That's a fine choice." and proceeded to the bar.

She gasped and with an incredulous look said, "That's almost $400 a bottle!"

"That's ok... The Steak with Shrimp Pasta is only $75.00...and besides, this is my first date since I called off the wedding."...He smiled.

She smiled, and said, "Ok."

Well... the storm outside subsided, and the Hotel lounge, bar and restaurant filled quickly, as it was a Friday night so the place naturally became busy and loud.

I couldn't get away with playing softly now, and thus I couldn't hear what they were talking about.

But, they were talking and drinking, and laughing, and holding hands, and he was really having fun, which made me smile because he had been so depressed the last several weeks.

Two hours had passed. They finished dinner and 2 bottles of the pricy Merlot. I could now take a break, pretend to mark up some sheet music, tune in, and find out how the "dream date" was going.

Suddenly the laughter stopped, and things took a serious turn after she asked him what his plans were for the weekend. He drank down the last of his wine and smiled, "I was supposed to fly to Vegas and get married."

She quickly responded, "Oh, wow... I'm sorry...I totally forgot the date... I-"

"That's all right... Except that I already paid for everything and there's no refunds. You know what?"

"What's that?" She asked, while squeezing his hands tighter.

"We haven't talked about everything... I still haven't told you what she did."

"It's ok... You don't have to--"

"No...I want to... I really love...being with you, and I think that just maybe in this crazy world, we are supposed to be--and I don't want you to always wonder about her or us... or if there's still a chance of...Oh, hell...I've probably blown it all now anyway, so who cares."

The young man had tears in his eyes, and she quietly said:

"You haven't blown anything."

The waiter arrived at their table and asked if they were "sure you don't want any dessert?"

"Yes," she answered. "We'll have another bottle of wine for dessert."

Then she leaned across the table and kissed him long and passionately.

...and now She Continues:

As soon as the elevator doors closed, I grabbed him by his tie and pulled him to me. I have never felt so excited to be with a man, in my life. His kiss was perfect, and the taste of the $400 Merlot still on our tongues was fine.

I pushed him against the back wall of the elevator and started to untuck his shirt. He spun me around gently while kissing me and then kissed my neck and top of my breasts while his right hand reached under my dress and slid in between my legs.

My heart was pounding. I'd never had sex in an elevator. I really wanted to though, and after sharing three bottles of wine, I had no inhibitions, but I still felt like I was in total control...Just a little tipsy.

Suddenly the elevator stopped and the doors opened.

He said, "Come on... we're almost home." He took my hand and we ran down the hallway to his room. I grabbed his ass with both hands and squeezed, pressing up against his back, while he put his key-card into the door.

I knew he loved me, and I loved him, and nothing could go wrong. There was a beautiful song playing through the entertainment system. A slow ballad. He pulled me close by my waist, and I could feel how hard he was.

We kissed and slow danced, and then I decided to elegantly pull back and spin around and away from him, and then my fingers slipped through his, and I felt funny, and a little queasy, and hot, as I continued spinning, and then I fell onto the bed, bounced back up, and then proceeded to throw up the wonderful dinner that I had earlier.

All over him...and myself. I started crying. I was horrified. I was embarrassed, and I guess I was drunk. My eyes felt heavy and I kind of passed out, but not for long.

He came out of the bathroom wearing only his boxer shorts. He had his suit all bundled up and tossed them in a pillow case. I closed my eyes, but tried not to fall asleep, even though I was completely zonked out. He gently took my shoes off, then my dress, bra and panties, and placed it into the pillow case as well.

He picked me up off the bed and set me in the desk chair, rolled me into the bathroom, into the shower, and then the sudden BLAST of cold water hit me and I screamed! He quickly adjusted the water temp, and bathed and washed me clean. It was actually very refreshing, and the best foreplay I've ever experienced in a non-erotic way. Just soothing, gentle touching.

He dried me off and then wrapped a large, fluffy, white robe around me and fastened me tight and snug. He lifted me into his arms and carried me to the bed and tucked me in. I fell asleep fast and slept like a baby.

I awoke 12 hours later. I opened my eyes, wondering for a few moments where I was, and then it all came back to me. I closed my eyes and sighed. I slowly turned over, but he wasn't there. I had a devastating hangover.

The dining table in the suite had a Dozen Fresh Red Roses on it, and several Silver, Sparkling Serving Dishes.

I smiled. I was starving. There was a fresh pot of coffee, a large bottle of fresh water, and a tiny dish with two pain-pills resting on it. I lifted the biggest dish top which featured, Bacon, Eggs, Sausage, Pancakes, Assorted Fruit, Potatoes, Toast and more, and smelled yummy!

I checked another dish, and as I pulled the top off of it, I discovered the two First Class Tickets to Las Vegas. Her name was crossed off one of the tickets. There was a wedding brochure that showed the Wedding/Honeymoon Package at the Bellagio Hotel. The Romantic Suite was gorgeous and the small Wedding Chapel looked delightful.

Underneath the final small Silver Serving Dish was a ring box. My eyes filled with tears as I opened it. A small, dazzling diamond ring exploded into my eyes, sparkling from the lighting above and sunshine streaming in through the window.

THE END

proposal
Like

About the Creator

Bill Arnold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.