Marriage logo

My Opinion on Marriages

Love, Marriage, Life

By Jennifer McIntoshPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Marriage is a beautiful thing, there are lights all around, music, food, drinks of all kinds, and the two people celebrating the ceremony. But is it truly worth it to go through all this? Do you really need to have all these fancy things, a perfect setting, and etc?

My outlook on marriage has been changing constantly. I was like many young girls, I wanted a certain kind of dress, I dreamed about what music I wanted to play, where I wanted it to be, and of course, I would picture what kind of person I wanted to marry one day.

My relationships haven’t been the best, and perhaps that’s why my feelings about marriage are now so rusty. I wanted nothing more than something simple, or something that didn’t have anything too fancy.

As I got older, my feelings and ideas about marriage changed, and what I wanted for my own wedding changed too. It went from what most girls dream about, to something that would maybe seem out of the ordinary.

I used to not care if something was too expensive, you know; maybe it was going to be worth it in the end. But now I just feel like if I went that route, I would have drained half or all of my bank account.

The next thing is, do we REALLY have to wear the ring on the finger beside our pinky? Can’t we just wear it on any finger we choose? I have been thinking that it would be good to stand out, and just break that tradition.

I have nothing against the typical wedding where people follow all traditions; because I think weddings, in general, are wonderful, but I’ve always been wanting to branch out and try different things.

In fact, I was speaking to my partner one day, and I thought it would be cool to mix our traditions. But that was a couple years back, and now I just think it would be great if we just eloped.

I know it seems like I hate weddings, but I’ve already said I think they are wonderful and I mean it. I just feel like I don’t need to go to the extreme when celebrating something like this. I’ve already acknowledged that I may get married and I may not, and I know I’ll be okay either way.

I’ve been to many weddings in the past, and in the back of my mind, I’m thinking all these things that I’d likely get in trouble for if I ever spoke a word. Why this? Why that—all these questions beginning with why, because I want to understand the reason behind people spending all this money.

I’d love to know if it’s really worth it to go all the way when spending money, because I can’t imagine myself doing that just for a dress, and I’ve watched Say Yes to the Dress many times, admiring almost all the dresses that the women tried on.

But you see how much the dress costs and it makes you think, gee, maybe I don’t need to go all the way just for a dress. The least I’d do is spend a decent amount so I can decorate a room, and still make it look nice.

The last wedding I was a part of was 5 years ago, and I remember most of it pretty well. The woman who got married was my best friend then, and I was a bridesmaid. But after she got married, she would come to me talking about almost every problem that happened.

But the one piece of advice she gave me while moping about her problems, was these 4 words: “don’t get married, Jenn.” Even though we haven’t spoken in months, I think it’s stuck to me in a way, because all I feel now is that marriage is just a road to divorce.

Funny how you can think a wedding is so beautiful, but not care for some of the things that happen during an event like that. But aside from the wedding itself, you’ve got the reception and the honeymoon. I love the idea of doing both, but again, it feels as though I would have drained my bank account just for those two things.

But as far as both of those things go, well, I have dreamed and still dream about what songs could be used, but right now, I can’t see myself using most of my money for that. And as for the honeymoon, I may end up doing something for that. After all, if I get married, maybe my feelings about the wedding itself will change as well, but we will have to see.

ceremony and reception
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer McIntosh

I’m 29 and from Canada. I am a dog mama of a growing West Highland terrier, and I write anytime I can, (for the first time in a while). Come check out my stories anytime, there will always be something to read. Happy writing everyone😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.