Marriage logo

Arranged marriages - still a good option?

by Anshuman Kumar

By Anshuman KumarPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Arranged marriages - still a good option?
Photo by Shardayyy Photography on Unsplash

I was born in India and lived there a few years. I now live in Canada. For my marriage I chose to go through an arranged marriage and my wife later immigrated to Canada to be with me.

I think arranged marriages are still a good option in 2021 and may be so in the future as well. I do not think that everyone will find their partner on their own; millions of people try to find someone but not everyone does find someone. Also, these days many marriages can break up (whether they are arranged or not) so arranged marriages as an option might still work for many.

I remember when I was in India most of the weddings I knew of were arranged marriages. Most of them were successful. My parents, paternal grandparents, maternal grandparents, aunts and uncles, all had arranged marriages and they were successful. Yes, they had their challenges and their ups and downs but these couples maintained their marriage over the years.

Growing up for me, an arranged marriage was always an option. Later in my life in Canada my parents asked me whether I wanted to have an arranged marriage. I thought for a few days and told them I was ready for an arranged marriage. As soon as my relatives found out that I was ready for an arranged marriage they were overjoyed. They helped my parents select a girl whose family was also looking for a partner for her. Fortunately, she agreed to marry me and in 2006 we got married in India.

Generally speaking, what I like about arranged marriages is that it is an option for people to get married whether they want such a marriage or may have difficulty finding someone on their own. I think it is good that even in 2021 a young man or woman can go to their parents in India or another South Asian country and a few other countries and their parents can help arrange a marriage for them. Personally, I think young people should think of it as a good option in case they need it. Yes, most people do not have to go through an arranged marriage. However, if arranged marriages were a potential option in all 200+ countries in the world I think more people may then like to have an arranged marriage.

I do not like the fact that there are potentially millions of people in the world who may want to get married but can not do so for various reasons: in some cities and towns there may be fewer women compared to men or vice versa; many men or women may not be able to find their suitable partners in their villages, colleges, universities and/work, etc. I think if someone wants to get married then there should be a way for them to do so (and arranged marriages can definitely be an option).

Through the years I have seen problems in arranged marriages (adjusting to married life after the wedding; couples may have to live with a joint family; certain family members may interfere a lot, etc.). However, I have also seen people work through their problems. If people have the will to remain married and genuinely love and care for each other then they will be able to handle the challenges that come their way.

In closing I would like to reiterate that I think it is preferable to find a partner on one’s own and pursue marriage with them but if for whatever reason that is not possible for an individual then they should seriously consider an arranged marriage as an option. It has worked for millions of people all over the world.

ceremony and reception
1

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.