Lifehack logo

You Must Pay The Gate Keeper

No one will support your dreams unless you do this.

By Omasanjuwa Ogharandukun AnirejuoritsePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

After reading my recent articles here, this young man sent me a DM. He has a musical ambition. He believes he can do much more than those in the music industry right now.

After reading my recent articles here, this young man sent me a DM. He has a musical ambition. He believes he can do much more than those in the music industry right now.

“I can write songs from anything. I can re-do people’s songs. I can assuredly tell you that I can make it bigger than most Nigerian music artists. I have what it takes to beat most Nigerian music artistes back-to-back.”

But he has no one to sponsor him.

He said, “I have no sponsorship. I am scared to invest my little chop -money salary into this greatness that I harbor. I have this fear of “what if I invest these hard -earned peanuts and fail later?”

If you are on this table, pay attention.

I have said it before and I am saying it again. This life that you are living is not merciful. Life does not care.

Life does not care about your dreams. Life does not care about your goals. Life does not care about your aspirations. Life does not care whether you have a wife and four children to feed. Life does not care whether you are the one your entire village people are depending on. Life does not care whether the cure for AIDS is inside you.

Life only has one question to ask you. Are you ready to pay the price?

You must have seen those movies where there is a gatekeeper between the land of the living and the land of the dead. You never see his face. He transports people that are moving from one realm to the other. So you must drop a coin in his hand if you want to pass through.

The gatekeeper does not listen to anybody’s story. He only says one thing, “You must pay before you passass"

That is how life is.

Why should I invest in your dream if you who carry the dream are afraid to invest your last cent in that dream?

You self, think am. You have this big dream that will change the world. But your salary is just 40K monthly. You want to register for a class. The registration fee is N30K. Thankfully the class is online, so you are not transporting to any venue.

But if you pay 30K for that class, how will you survive that month? The 40K is barely enough for you.

This is what life will answer you. If that dream that you have is really as big as you claim, you will find a way.

You will start saving 2K every month for the next 15 months if you have to.

When you have saved up to 15K you will send a message to the facilitator and plead for a special concession. If they turn you down, you continue to save.

You will look for a menial job that you can do that will help you raise extra income to enable you to complete the 30K faster.

You will do whatever it takes.

No one will invest in your dream if you have not shown proof that you believe in that dream. And the proof of belief is action.

2023 is going to be your best year so far. Amen! Now show me proof that you really believe that. What specific action are you committing to in 2022?

What is that thing that you are ready to invest your last dime in so that you can get it done? What is that thing that is going to make you wake up by 4:00 a.m. every day for the next 180 days just to get it done? What challenges are you giving yourself?

The proof of belief is action.

All of these still do not guarantee success but it is the requirement that life demands. And until you pay you won't pass.

Can you now see why I am committing to a 45-day video challenge? It will stretch me. I may have to learn some new skills like basic video editing. I may have to learn how other platforms work like setting up a YouTube channel.

But if that is what life demands, that is what you pay.

Leaders start while others are sleeping.

Mute Efefe

how tohow toself helpadvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.